Community
Wiki Posts
Search

How to do the pinch test?

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2016, 10:39 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default How to do the pinch test?

I am new to nitro racing, and i am still tuning my needles. Do i have to pinch the fuel line strong or lightly? I pinched mine lightly and it quitted in 9 secs. (I am still in break in)
Old 09-15-2016, 10:47 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

If I were you I would not bother with the pinch test, its not overly accurate and will usually end up causing more confusion and trouble then anything else...IMO its one of the stupidest tuning ideas I have ever heard ! and if someone ever advises you to be pinching the fuel line to check tune I would completely ignore any of their tuning advice

Listen to the engines idle speed... that will tell you if your LSN mixture is correct..a proper LSN will allow the engine idle nice, slow and relaxed with a very slight miss..If your idle is fast, steady and sounding like a box of angry bees it means your mixture is likely too lean, or you have the idle gap too large.........In the end there is no better way to check the LSN mixture then to listen to the engines idle characteristics...Pinching the fuel line is just plain stupid !
Old 09-15-2016, 12:48 PM
Tech Champion

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwzcWLKKU0I
Still the best explanation.
Old 09-15-2016, 01:16 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 123 (100%+)

LOL at Neal (Maximo). Seriously, I am. LOL!
Old 09-15-2016, 03:26 PM
Tech Champion

Originally Posted by jkas10
LOL at Neal (Maximo). Seriously, I am. LOL!

Yep..whenever I see guys doing the pinch test I know right away they don't what the hell they are doing !
Old 09-15-2016, 03:40 PM
Tech Champion