Switching fuels

Old 09-30-2014, 05:00 PM
  #31  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
HomicidalBunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Lille-bror
FX engine is not OS based engines! only the plugs :-)
Ah yes I forgot that's what I had written. I meant to say that the head button was "OS based" because it uses OS based plugs.
HomicidalBunny is offline  
Old 09-30-2014, 05:01 PM
  #32  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
HomicidalBunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by blis
Other than tuning, the only cause for concern would be in case there is an adverse reaction between the fuel types or after run.

Put some old fuel in a jar, add some new and leave it over night, do the same with after run and check it doesn't coagulate (turn to blobs) or precipitate (create solids)

It's probably a good time for a tear down and bearing flush.
I'm going to have to muster a lot of courage to crack open my engine again Last time I did, I found a surprise score on my piston

How do you flush the bearings? Nitro engine cleaner (with bearings out of the crankcase of course)?
HomicidalBunny is offline  
Old 09-30-2014, 05:23 PM
  #33  
Tech Elite
 
grizz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,983
Default

Just run the motor right out of the old fuel unit it won't start with the glow igniter on.
The Werks fuel won't be an issue. Just fire it up and re-tune to the Race Blend.
grizz1 is offline  
Old 09-30-2014, 05:31 PM
  #34  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
HomicidalBunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by grizz1
Just run the motor right out of the old fuel unit it won't start with the glow igniter on.
The Werks fuel won't be an issue. Just fire it up and re-tune to the Race Blend.
Sounds like a plan
HomicidalBunny is offline  
Old 09-30-2014, 07:10 PM
  #35  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Saskatoon sk
Posts: 344
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Clockwork has fuel and it's amazing
Chief88 is offline  
Old 10-01-2014, 10:20 AM
  #36  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,769
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chief88
Clockwork has fuel and it's amazing
Yep, it's actually Clock Werks fuel and it's a product that we make for them. So anyone that is looking to try our fuel in Canada please give Neil a call and order some!
Werks is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.