Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum
How Should an Engine Look inside after a Day Racing? >

How Should an Engine Look inside after a Day Racing?

How Should an Engine Look inside after a Day Racing?

Old 06-09-2014, 05:40 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default How Should an Engine Look inside after a Day Racing?

Hey Guys Just Checking out my engine and was wondering if it's normal for the piston to be so darkened after a days racing our is it a sign of running to rich or to lean. The engine is a gallon old. Thanks.
Old 06-09-2014, 05:54 AM
Tech Regular

Also the Fuel is VP masterfuel 30%
Old 06-09-2014, 06:40 AM
Tech Master

Usually that sort excessive carbon buildup means either your fuel is rubbish, or your engine has lost all its compression and is re-combusting already combusted fuels.

Since your engine is only 1 gallon old, I'll go with "you're allegedly running rubbish fuel".

I've never tried this fuel, so before they go and take me to court, I'd like to make it clear that this is just guesswork and stick an "allegedly" in there.

Ps. I've also seen similar results from ingested dusty sand particles, but that would leave scratches on the sides of the piston. If your engine has good compression and no scratches on piston, change your brand of fuel.
Old 06-09-2014, 06:57 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

That looks fine. A golden brown color just shows you're making power. If there is any castor in the fuel it will deposit a slight golden to brown deposit. It actually protects the engine.

If there is no color whatsoever you're way rich and not making power and wasting fuel.

Go back to the track and have fun.
Old 06-09-2014, 08:40 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 118 (100%+)