5.2 Not Firing Up

Old 04-06-2014, 08:54 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Default 5.2 Not Firing Up

Hey everyone my nitrage has fired a few times for me but hasnt continued to run. When I put the rotostart in it doesnt always engage. Sounds like its just spinning. Take out the glow plug and it sounds normal. put the glow plug back in and it sounds like its slipping. I could really use some advice as I am a noob to nitro and am getting frusterated. Thanks
jeremydh is offline  
Old 04-06-2014, 10:40 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Imbue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Fairhope, AL
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The one-way bearing located in the rotostart backplate is slipping, likely from grease/grime buildup. You need to take out the bearing and thoroughly clean it with something like engine degreaser or brake cleaner.

The engine not running is most likely another issue.
Imbue is offline  
Old 04-07-2014, 07:35 AM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks. I am gonna pull the motor out of it today and give it a good going over. Hopefully I can get it figured out. Thanks again for your help.
jeremydh is offline  
Old 04-07-2014, 08:08 AM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

I went through those 1 way bearings all the time when I had a roto start. It's a horrible design.
Frank L is offline  
Old 04-07-2014, 06:32 PM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks guys. Got the one way bearing cleaned out. Works sweet now but still cant get it to fire up. Thing the carb needs some serious tweeking. I am learning slowly lol.
jeremydh is offline  
Old 04-07-2014, 07:50 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Imbue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Fairhope, AL
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Set the carb back to factory and make sure you have a plug that looks good, or better yet replace it. The 5.2 Tamiya engine is the same as a Force .32 engine. The Force .32 manual/settings are listed below in the PDF. These settings will likely be quite rich, so you'll need to lean it out from there, but it *should* at least run.

http://www.ofna.com/pdf/52208-32-FORCE-ENGINE.pdf


EDIT: I found the actual Tamiya manuals.

http://www.tamiyausa.com/pdf/manuals/43530ml.pdf
http://www.tamiyausa.com/pdf/manuals/43532ml.pdf
Imbue is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.