Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum
Electrix Revenge Type N Break-in >

Electrix Revenge Type N Break-in

Electrix Revenge Type N Break-in

Old 07-27-2013, 07:50 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Default Electrix Revenge Type N Break-in

I just got this rc car from my LHS and started to break it in today. It ran fine for the first half of the first tank of gas then it just quit. (I was like wtf?) So i let it cool down and tried again it would run literally fine for around 6-10 seconds then again quit. There a crap load of oil coming out of the exhaust (this is good right?). Im using o'donnel ready to run 20% nitro. And yes i have a few years of running nitro but i honestly have never encountered this problem. So, any help is welcome. No stalling of the engine btw. runs fine for a few seconds like i said
wolf6991 is offline  
Old 07-27-2013, 07:58 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 860
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The engine is going to be set very rich from factory, and yes this is good. Spitting oil is good in the beginning as the lubrication is good for a new engine during break in. What you will need to do is start leaning out the the low end until the engine will idle for a whole tank. Idle two tanks through the engine at first on the box and then start leaning it out little by little and doing figure 8's on the ground at very slow speed (less than 5 mph). After 5 or 6 tanks you can start leaning out the low end more and start leaking the top end to get some top speed out of it.

With all this said, if you are not really experienced with nitro, you should get someone to help you out.
Zachfeen is offline  
Old 07-27-2013, 10:24 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Default Thanks!

It running fine now, actually way better than how it originally started. The weird thing is that I am not using the needle settings from factory. It ran pretty bad with then so I used flush on both the lsn and the hsn. Now it's idling fine no prob. I found what you said kind of offensive at the end of your post. Btw nice white smoke coming out of the exhaust pipe.
wolf6991 is offline  
Old 07-27-2013, 10:50 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
ozziii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Echuca, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 1,425
Default

Read the engine break in bible at the top of the engine thread, its got all the info you need. Break in fuel isn't really needed either, just use the fuel you will be running the engine on, it will do the job just fine as the engine is running rich so will still get the lube it needs. You don't need to let an engine idle for a few tanks on the box either, its better to pre heat & drive the car slowly as it helps the parts bet in better & helps get heat into the engine. Read about the heat cycle method, its better for running in engines.
ozziii is offline  
Old 07-28-2013, 05:51 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 860
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

While I don't understand how in the world what I said was offensive, I'm glad you got it figured out. Nitro tuning isn't an easy thing to figure out, hence my suggestion.


And to ozziii, there are a hundred ways to effectively break in an engine. Unless you have concrete evidence that one way is better than another, I refuse to believe the heat cycle method is better than any other method.
Zachfeen is offline  
Old 07-28-2013, 07:08 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (31)
 
wombat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 955
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Heat cycling an engine is beneficial (i.e pre-heating a new engine prior to start-up with a heat gun or engine heater), but i've always run at one to two tanks on a box straight off the bat for a new engine prior to loading it up driving it on the ground (easier to see/control idle and adjust initial needle settings with it sitting there on a box), I personally haven't and would never run an engine straight on the ground from 1st start up tank regardless if its pre-heated or not.

But that's just me....
wombat is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.