Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum
Best nitro engine for 1/8 scale buggy >

Best nitro engine for 1/8 scale buggy

Best nitro engine for 1/8 scale buggy

Old 04-26-2013, 10:49 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Best nitro engine for 1/8 scale buggy

Hi all, i am new to all of this, so here goes. i have just bought a 1/8 scale off road buggy from a friend, i want to put a new engine in it because it has been used a lot. what is the best (quickest accelerating) engine going. i have looked at some but nothing has jumped out at me. cheers
Old 05-04-2013, 08:09 AM
Tech Master

Pullstart or bumpstart,?
You mustn't have looked to far because there is plenty of engines with plenty of power that will make a buggy accelerate fast but its not just the engine, its the gearing as well, the weight of the buggy, tires & the surface as well as the clutch to so with the right combination then just about any engine will make a car accelerate very fast.
Just look through some of the threads here on RC Tech & you will find good engines.
Old 05-04-2013, 06:08 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

Convert it to electric if you want supper acceleration. If all you care about is speed or acceleration buy a cheaper engine, they have tons of power and are cheap, the more expensive engines are smoother and get better mileage while the cheaper ones don't worry about fuel mileage so go with a .28 or something like that
Old 05-04-2013, 07:47 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

If you want a good mill that is easy to break in and tune. You need to try out one of th Reds R5 engines. I have never had a mill be so user friendly. I have had I know of 4 friends who have bought one after seeing ours run and they would tell you how good hey are. I'm working on getting another one real soon fr my other son as well. These things are nasty fast and you won't be upset with your purchase.
Old 05-06-2013, 07:30 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)