Bump Box Help.

Old 01-16-2013, 07:15 AM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Folkston, Ga
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default Bump Box Help.

I have 2 Ofna blue Truggy bump boxes. 1 has a lipo and the other one I hooked up a garden tractor battery. My issue is that if I have an engine with good compression or new engine I can't for the life of me get either box to turn the engines over enough to get them running. Thats with heating the engines up. They just don't seem to have enough power. Do I need a bigger Lipo battery. Can someone give me some much needed advice on what I can do. I'm very close to deep sixing them in my Pond. I'm very tempted to go roto start or pull start on everything. Thanks in advance for your input.
"WormGrunter" is offline  
Old 01-16-2013, 08:00 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 8,368
Default

Loosen the plug one turn, start with half throttle and when it runs try to screw the plug with the ignitor an tighten it with a wrench.

But if if it is a runned-in engine then to me it seems the battery is weak or the starting wheel is not fully aligned and touching the chassis..
Roelof is offline  
Old 01-16-2013, 08:13 AM
  #3  
xc7
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
xc7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 599
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Drop a 4s lipo in those boxes and get those engines up to 220F if you can. Prime them, and be sure your box is lined up properly also.
xc7 is offline  
Old 01-16-2013, 08:16 AM
  #4  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (11)
 
Maximo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7,901
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by "WormGrunter" View Post
I have 2 Ofna blue Truggy bump boxes. 1 has a lipo and the other one I hooked up a garden tractor battery. My issue is that if I have an engine with good compression or new engine I can't for the life of me get either box to turn the engines over enough to get them running. Thats with heating the engines up. They just don't seem to have enough power. Do I need a bigger Lipo battery. Can someone give me some much needed advice on what I can do. I'm very close to deep sixing them in my Pond. I'm very tempted to go roto start or pull start on everything. Thanks in advance for your input.
you probably dont have the box aligned 100% properly...........I Am going to guess your wheel is rubbing he chassis and your not using the proper technique............. A OFNA Box on a 4S Lipo will spin over almost any engine if you do it right......

Take the engine out of the car, then line up your box..make sure the wheel is not rubbing the chassis plate If the wheel rubs it can scrub off all your starters power..........
Maximo is offline  
Old 01-16-2013, 08:27 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (118)
 
MotoGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 3,830
Trader Rating: 118 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Maximo View Post
you probably dont have the box aligned 100% properly...........I Am going to guess your wheel is rubbing he chassis and your not using the proper technique............. A OFNA Box on a 4S Lipo will spin over almost any engine if you do it right......

Take the engine out of the car, then line up your box..make sure the wheel is not rubbing the chassis plate If the wheel rubs it can scrub off all your starters power..........
Ain't that that truth! I bet the darn box will spin over a Honda Civic if you could hook it up! hahaha
MotoGod is offline  
Old 01-16-2013, 10:03 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Folkston, Ga
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I will try both ideas for sure. The boxes have dual 775 motors in them so I need to double check my alignment. Thanks alot for some much needed advice. I will also be looking into a 4s Lipo. If anyone knows of a good one to recommend please let me know.
"WormGrunter" is offline  
Old 01-18-2013, 02:09 AM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Paynesville, Vic
Posts: 23
Default

Had same problem, loosening glow plug worked a treet.
Davison is offline  
Old 01-19-2013, 04:58 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Folkston, Ga
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Everything's good to go now. Thanks for guidance.
"WormGrunter" is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.