"Batteryless" glow plug igniter

Reply

Old 03-07-2012, 07:46 PM
  #1  
DLF
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: S.C.O.R.E. Savannah, GA
Posts: 192
Default "Batteryless" glow plug igniter

Currently, I have the Ofna glow plug igniter for 12V (http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...r-w-12V-Driver)

I love the thing. Problem is, it's for 12 volts and I'm going to a new box using two 7.2 volt packs.

Does anyone make something like this that will work at 14.4 volts?
DLF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 07:58 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (13)
 
SolderGlob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wilm.Il.
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Why not use a single cell igniter?
SolderGlob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:52 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
 
Zao18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 367
Default

Because it's one more thing to charge. The guy is just trying to keep things simple and use a glowplug igniter that runs off his starter box battery. It's also a great way to keep your igniter from "wandering off" and getting misplaced. No one will wander off with it if it doesn't have its own battery .

In regards to the original question, unfortunately you'll likely have to solder your own resistor into the igniter circuit to drop down the voltage to 12v.
Zao18 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 09:00 PM
  #4  
ekt
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
ekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Burnie, Australia
Posts: 1,229
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I use the same thing, instead of using 2x2s in series in the box, I use 2x3s in parallel.
ekt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 09:31 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (11)
 
Maximo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7,900
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DLF View Post
Currently, I have the Ofna glow plug igniter for 12V (http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...r-w-12V-Driver)

I love the thing. Problem is, it's for 12 volts and I'm going to a new box using two 7.2 volt packs.

Does anyone make something like this that will work at 14.4 volts?
it will work fine on 14V..just turn it down a little..I use a 2C Lipo all the time with mine...no issues at all
Maximo is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service