Werks B6 tuning help

Old 02-28-2012, 01:28 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Locum51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Werks B6 tuning help

Okay, i've had this motor since last season and i could never get it to fully run correct.
Stats to get you up to speed...
Werks B6 with ~5gals, og everything
P3 plug (picture to show plug state)
temp of 210F during idle (video will be provided showing so)
idle gap of 1.5mm (picture to show will be posted)
fuel filter is being used currently but it also happened when i was straight line.
At time of video, needle settings were 1 1/2 turns in on lsn, and flush with top on hsn.

I do like always and reset everything to flush, start with an idle gap of 1.5mm and let it idle for a bit, however....

Any time any throttle is applied, it randomly dies...*no matter what lsn setting i have it on*



WARNING!! VIDEO IS LOUD, TAKEN WITH IPHONE

Last edited by Locum51; 02-28-2012 at 01:30 PM. Reason: forgot warning and other stats
Locum51 is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 01:31 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
stallen50's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,209
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

idle gap way to big. should be .5-.7mm. you should barely see it with the stock venturi in
stallen50 is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 01:37 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Locum51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stallen50 View Post
idle gap way to big. should be .5-.7mm. you should barely see it with the stock venturi in
Really? I was told 1mm-2mm by werks on here.
Locum51 is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 01:40 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
stallen50's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,209
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Locum51 View Post
Really? I was told 1mm-2mm by werks on here.
i would reset your needles and idle gap to .5-.7 and retune. and hopefully fixes your probs
stallen50 is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 01:43 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,919
Default

Originally Posted by Locum51 View Post
Really? I was told 1mm-2mm by werks on here.
I don't think so. Maybe +1mm for break in, but not for running.

That black plug shows you're super rich. Close that baby down.
nitroexpress is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 01:51 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Locum51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nitroexpress View Post
Close that baby down.



Better?
Locum51 is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 02:45 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,713
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Locum51 View Post
Really? I was told 1mm-2mm by werks on here.
If I told you that then it was for break in. Normal air gap setting for a broken in engine is approx 0.5mm. As others have said reduce the air gap and lean the LS needle down until you get a smooth steady idle. Then tune from there. If you have any other questions please post them on the B6 thread so that the forum does not get cluttered up and I'll be happy to help you out
Werks is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 04:07 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,919
Default

[QUOTE=Locum51;10395872
Better?[/QUOTE]

You did set the gap with the restrictor out, right?
nitroexpress is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 04:16 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Locum51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Alright, just wondering for now as I have yet to test the new air gap but if I have the same problem with the engine randomly dying when throttle is applied...what could that be? (trying to soak in as much info as I can while my brain is still young.)
Locum51 is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 04:18 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Locum51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nitroexpress View Post
You did set the gap with the restrictor out, right?
Yes, I didn't have much time to be exact in my measurement, it was a by eye measurement with the resistrictor out yes.
Locum51 is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 04:25 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
stallen50's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,209
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

how are you tuning the motor? high first or low end?
stallen50 is offline  
Old 02-28-2012, 04:42 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Locum51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stallen50 View Post
how are you tuning the motor? high first or low end?
Always low end first, after air gap is set. And I'll rev in between lsn adjustments.
Locum51 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.