R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Offroad Nitro Engine Forum (https://www.rctech.net/forum/offroad-nitro-engine-forum-157/)
-   -   Engine dies.. (https://www.rctech.net/forum/offroad-nitro-engine-forum/595919-engine-dies.html)

p@p@nut 02-06-2012 02:29 AM

Engine dies..

Hey guys i just need a little help since im new to nitro. I just installed a brand new o.s. speed 19xzb on my mp9. I can start the engine with minimal problems but when i remove the glow heater it dies. Ive left it on for more than 30 secs it still dies. I havent touched any of the needles yet. And when i leave it running for about 5mins the temp is quite low, not that hot to the touch. Could it be that the engine is to cold? Do i need to preheat it? Your help and advice is much appreciated. Please and thank you :)

filty addiction 02-06-2012 02:47 AM

is the glow plug new as i had this problem yesterday with a glow plug it would run fine and then if i took the igniter off it stalled. Changed glow plug and i was away.

psr 02-06-2012 03:05 AM

let the engine get warm and make sure the chassie is saturated small blips of the throatle will get it up then you should be fine and it should not die

then try the glow plug maybee its realy rich however you need to get the engine up to temp first

try heating itup with a hot heat gun first

blade954 02-06-2012 04:26 AM

Yes even if the Glow plug is new out the packet it may well be faulty i had some OS plugs do that few years back...

rossham46 02-06-2012 04:49 AM

Engine is too cold and too rich. Os default settingd are a bit too rich. Wrap aluminium foil around the heat sink and bump up the idle screw a bit.

Mark _australia 02-06-2012 05:23 AM

Originally Posted by rossham46 (Post 10284780)
Engine is too cold and too rich. Os default settingd are a bit too rich. Wrap aluminium foil around the heat sink and bump up the idle screw a bit.

Yes agreed

Popnut: