Shimming Question, guru's needed

Reply

Old 04-28-2011, 01:47 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (63)
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default Shimming Question, guru's needed

Does Taking out head button shims reduce engine capacity slightly?
as there will be slightly less volume?

I know it increases compression, but i wanted to know this also even if it is slightly.
LOSI123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 07:35 AM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
 
TecnoPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Between France and Italy
Posts: 68
Default

Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
Does Taking out head button shims reduce engine capacity slightly?
as there will be slightly less volume?

I know it increases compression, but i wanted to know this also even if it is slightly.
The engine capacity is determined by the bore and stroke of the engine, not the volume of the combustion chamber with the psiton at TDC
TecnoPower is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 06:20 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (63)
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

I thought that might be the case, but i wanted to make sure, Thanks a ton
LOSI123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:34 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
drewmugx5t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 414
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

since someone already started this thread, I have a relevant question. I have been popping glow plugs more often than I should in my Ninja's. I added the shim that came with them as someone at the track told me that should help. I have yet to run since the change, is this going to help? PS my tune has been pretty spot on, and I did check to be sure the filament wasn't stuck on the piston or head button. Both motors are pretty fresh IMO 3-4 gallons.
drewmugx5t is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:36 PM
  #5  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

what plugs are you using?
Jaz240 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 12:21 AM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
 
TecnoPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Between France and Italy
Posts: 68
Default

Originally Posted by drewmugx5t View Post
since someone already started this thread, I have a relevant question. I have been popping glow plugs more often than I should in my Ninja's. I added the shim that came with them as someone at the track told me that should help. I have yet to run since the change, is this going to help? PS my tune has been pretty spot on, and I did check to be sure the filament wasn't stuck on the piston or head button. Both motors are pretty fresh IMO 3-4 gallons.
Adding a shim makes the engine more easier to set, this untill a certain point of course and yes in your case this should help.
TecnoPower is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 04:56 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
drewmugx5t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 414
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Thanks TP. I run a P3 plug
drewmugx5t is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service