R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum

Old 12-31-2010, 06:56 PM   #1
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default jammin x1x Force .28 and mccoy mc59 glow plug?

I am a newbie to nitro and i burned out a glow plug and purchased a set of dynamite mccoy mc59 plugs. They were highly recommended by my LHS. I got home and compared them to the factory plug and its quite a bit longer. After reading the manual it says not to use the mc59. What exactly is the reason? I installed it and checked the clearance with and without the brass washer and there is plenty of clearance (10 to 15 thousandths). Im thinking maybe it has to do with their 20% nitro fuel recommendation and the longer plug bumping up the compression causing a change in the ignition timing. Im running 30% cold fusion fuel. Will this setup be ok or will i cost myself some cash? I wont be able to get back to the store until monday and would like to run it this weekend.

Last edited by smccolp; 12-31-2010 at 07:11 PM.
smccolp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 02:31 PM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smccolp View Post
I am a newbie to nitro and i burned out a glow plug and purchased a set of dynamite mccoy mc59 plugs. They were highly recommended by my LHS. I got home and compared them to the factory plug and its quite a bit longer. After reading the manual it says not to use the mc59. What exactly is the reason? I installed it and checked the clearance with and without the brass washer and there is plenty of clearance (10 to 15 thousandths). Im thinking maybe it has to do with their 20% nitro fuel recommendation and the longer plug bumping up the compression causing a change in the ignition timing. Im running 30% cold fusion fuel. Will this setup be ok or will i cost myself some cash? I wont be able to get back to the store until monday and would like to run it this weekend.