Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum
I need an engine recommendation for Truggy - Racing >

I need an engine recommendation for Truggy - Racing

Community
Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree12Likes

I need an engine recommendation for Truggy - Racing

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2020, 07:20 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default I need an engine recommendation for Truggy - Racing

I am trying my hand at nitro Truggy racing. Unfortunately my engine just failed so I need a new one. What I had was very difficult to tune and many had worked on it from brand new. No need to mention the brand as I am not worried about brand blaming and no need to disrespect the brand as I very well could be at fault for the failure. I haven't torn the motor down yet. Kind of disappointing really as I finally had it running reliably, go figure.

Anyhow, is there a consensus as to an engine that is easy to tune and reliable for racing. I am not a pro so at this point it is more about learning and having a good time so I don't need the fastest of the fastest. I am looking for reliable and easy(ier) to tune. From my flying, OS is always solid and I know there are several very good OS motors out there, but which one? With OS you really have some selection. Sadly Nova Rossi looks dead. I know there are other brands out there but a lot are names I don't recognize.

I don't mean to open a can of worms. I know that asking my local racers is always recommended and I will do that but I would like to reach out to a broader group for opinion.

Thanks in advance
Old 10-30-2020, 11:42 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

blok truck motor (spec 2)
flashpoint fp02, think it’s same motor as above ^ (spec 2)
tessmann spec 2 (tall head)
b2103 type r
I saw the AD2 push around a truck last weekend but not sure if that’s the best application.

these are all os motors that I think would be reliable and easy to tune.
Old 10-31-2020, 10:19 AM