Kyosho GX15 engine problems

Old 02-08-2010, 10:47 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Kyosho GX15 engine problems

Hi All, I'm new to nitro, and new to the forum. I've just bought a second hand Kyosho GP Ultima ST with a GX15 engine. It was bought really cheap, and I'm trying to get it set up. The problem I have is as follows. The engine starts straight up, no problems, and idles ok, but I'm having trouble stopping it. I've got an engine stopper, which is basically a plug to stop the exhaust, but the engine runs with the exhaust stopper in. Its also ticking over quite quickly. The main problem is also this.. When I increase the engine rpm with the throttle, it revs up ok, but a pool of what looks like oil appears under the engine. What could be causing this? The exhaust is slightly smoky at tickover, but thats ok right? Also, I can only see one adusting screw.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 02-10-2010, 02:32 AM
Tech Rookie

Wow, thanks for all the help guys... Seems like such a friendly forum...
Old 02-10-2010, 02:53 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Sounds like you've got a leaky exhaust for starters, that needs to be fixed before we can tell if there are other problems. The oil under the engine and the fact that it doesn't stop when you plug the exhaust is the clue here. Either a bad gasket or loose header.
Old 02-10-2010, 07:30 AM
Tech Rookie

Yeah, just figured that one out last night. Got new header gaskets coming. Also think I've now got a duff glowplug... Doesn't start at all now. Tested it, and it not glow... and yes, I've checked the glowplug starter is charged.. . Off to pick up a loada spares now..

Doesn't look like there's any low end needle mixture adjustment, only high end..