Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum
ProTek 321b v2 connecting rod >

ProTek 321b v2 connecting rod

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By stephen_bess
  • 1 Post By largeorangefont

ProTek 321b v2 connecting rod

Old 08-10-2020, 10:44 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
ceh329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default ProTek 321b v2 connecting rod

I have a Samurai 321b v2 and its a great Engine with good pinch left on it but I noticed that the connecting rod has a bit of play on the crank while at top dead center. Since the engine is discontinued does anyone know if I can just replace the connecting rod? Are all of the OS connecting rods compatible with each other? Thanks, still new to Nitro, so sorry if it's a stupid question.
ceh329 is offline  
Old 08-13-2020, 03:52 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 257
Default

Originally Posted by ceh329 View Post
I have a Samurai 321b v2 and its a great Engine with good pinch left on it but I noticed that the connecting rod has a bit of play on the crank while at top dead center. Since the engine is discontinued does anyone know if I can just replace the connecting rod? Are all of the OS connecting rods compatible with each other? Thanks, still new to Nitro, so sorry if it's a stupid question.
Not a stupid question at all. And that engine is one of my all-time favorite engines! It is the Protek-branded version of the OS Speed VSpec and Speed II engine series - and as such you can use those rods, piston/sleeves, wrist pins, and piston pin clips.

This is the rod you want ó though itís tough to find anymore...

https://www.amainhobbies.com/o.s.-co...3755020/p15723

Rick Vessell likes this.
stephen_bess is offline  
Old 08-13-2020, 04:25 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
ceh329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Awesome, thanks. Yeah, I'm having a hard time finding it
ceh329 is offline  
Old 08-13-2020, 04:29 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
ceh329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stephen_bess View Post
Not a stupid question at all. And that engine is one of my all-time favorite engines! It is the Protek-branded version of the OS Speed VSpec and Speed II engine series - and as such you can use those rods, piston/sleeves, wrist pins, and piston pin clips.

This is the rod you want ó though itís tough to find anymore...

https://www.amainhobbies.com/o.s.-co...3755020/p15723
Any idea if this one will work ...

https://www.amainhobbies.com/o.s.-co...3755020/p15723
ceh329 is offline  
Old 08-14-2020, 07:54 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Central IL
Posts: 2,399
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ceh329 View Post
Yes, that is the rod you want.
Rick Vessell is offline  
Old 08-14-2020, 08:18 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, So Cal
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I'm a little bummed they don't make this this engine any more. I have really enjoyed mine.
ceh329 likes this.
largeorangefont is offline  
Old 08-14-2020, 10:15 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
ceh329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stephen_bess View Post
Not a stupid question at all. And that engine is one of my all-time favorite engines! It is the Protek-branded version of the OS Speed VSpec and Speed II engine series - and as such you can use those rods, piston/sleeves, wrist pins, and piston pin clips.

This is the rod you want ó though itís tough to find anymore...

https://www.amainhobbies.com/o.s.-co...3755020/p15723
Originally Posted by Rick Vessell View Post
Yes, that is the rod you want.
Crud, copy and pasted wrong link. I meant this one ...

https://www.amainhobbies.com/o.s.-co...3755020/p15723
ceh329 is offline  
Old 08-14-2020, 06:58 PM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 50
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Still available!

https://www.amainhobbies.com/o.s.-co...103030/p164270
inlinesick is offline  
Old 08-17-2020, 09:34 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
ceh329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by inlinesick View Post
Trust me, I thought about it. I ended up ordering a new ProTek Samurai S03 and I think I'll order the R2102, Speed 21XZ-GT connecting rod and install it in my 321b v2 and use the motor as a backup.
ceh329 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.