Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum
Tmaxx Trouble??? Runaway Flywheel >

Tmaxx Trouble??? Runaway Flywheel

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Tmaxx Trouble??? Runaway Flywheel

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2019, 02:52 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Questions?? Tmaxx Trouble??? Runaway Flywheel

https://photos.app.goo.gl/DCfzcGEX25BR4CqGAHey Y’all, I bought an old Traxxas Tmaxx over 2yrs ago for $50 from a friend’s neighbor. It was given to him by the original owner, but my friend’s neighbor had no idea what to do with it. I think it may be from the first year they were built, but I could be wrong. It sure ain’t anywhere close to new. If you read my ‘about me,’ you’ll see that my occupation is listed as “small engine mechanic...” cause it is. I’m familiar with engines. Besides lawnmowers and chainsaws, etc., I’ve worked on Mazda rotary engines, Nissan engines, chevys... so you can understand why I’m a little frustrated that I can’t get this minuscule glow engine to go. On the day I bought the truck, I was able to get it to fire for a short moment of no more than 5secs, until the flywheel unscrewed from the crankshaft of the TRX .15 engine. Ever since, I haven’t been able to start the thing. The flywheel/clutch assy comes off every time I turn the engine over. The carb works and delivers air and fuel to the engine, the engine has spark, and it has compression(as of 2yrs ago). I just don’t know why the flywheel and clutch keep coming off. The video I took and put at the top of the post shows you what I’m dealing with. Any and all help is appreciated! My goal is to bring the truck to a local track on a practice day and drive it around when I’m not practicing. I’ve rebuilt the transmission, since I thought that may have been the issue at first. I don’t think it was, and I’m not sure what I was thinking lol. The trans has no fluid in it now, and didn’t when I bought it. I’m not sure if it needs fluid, since it doe