Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum
Can anybody help please?? Engine troubles! >

Can anybody help please?? Engine troubles!

Can anybody help please?? Engine troubles!

Old 07-24-2019, 08:30 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Can anybody help please?? Engine troubles!

Hi everyone! I'm new to this site and wondered if anybody could give me some advice with my RC car! I'm​​​​I'm a complete noob with RC nitro so please forgive any silly questions!

I recently bought a second hand RC nitro truggy, it was in pieces (hence the cheap price) and I decided that I needed a project and would love to get into it!

I rebuilt the truck, watching endless amounts of YouTube tutorials on every little part making sure everything was out together correctly and mounted right and working as it should!
I checked that the clutch worked fine, everything moved as it should, bought new air filter foam for it and lubed the gears! I Eventually figured it all out and got everything working and set the way it should!

I finally got my glow plug ignitor this morning and was dying to get it running so I put the ignitor on charge for around 4 hours, I know it's supposed to be 12 but I was excited, and set about starting it! I primed the carb, put a couple drops of fuel in the engine itself to help as it hadn't been started in a while presumably, and it fired up...for about 3 seconds and then cut out. Everytime I start this thing, it'll run for a second or two and then cut out! I've checked everything that YouTube told me check and the only 3 things I can come up with are that the ignitor isn't charged properly (which I'm unsure about because it fires up briefly), dodgy glow plugs so I've ordered some new ones, and the carb settings but I've reset them to factory settings? I've been trying to about 20 minutes today and have took the skin off my knuckle on the pull start trying to get the thing started to no avail! Any help would be appreciated massively!