Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum
Novarossi p5 wont start without throttle please help >

Novarossi p5 wont start without throttle please help

Novarossi p5 wont start without throttle please help

Reply

Old 06-23-2019, 10:56 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
Exclamation Novarossi p5 wont start without throttle please help

Hey, so i got a nova p5 that has 2 gallons on it so far. Ever since its first start it has never started without me having to give it throttle? Many other people at my track start their engines without giving them gas and it idles perfectly. Mine however if it starts without throttle will be at very low rpm and die within a second. I always preheat my engine and when i do start it up it's perfectly tuned and runs like a dream at 240f. While this isn't really a big problem it bothers me. So anyone who knows what this might be please help. Thanks
jstaykov15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 11:12 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
HaulinBass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: grande prairie alberta canada
Posts: 2,619
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

allot of people use the idle up feature on radios when they first start up
HaulinBass is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 02:01 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
fiveoboy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Waunakee, WI
Posts: 733
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I have two P5s and I've always needed to blip the throttle a bit when spinning them over.

I think what you're experiencing is fairly normal.
fiveoboy01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 11:36 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 237
Default

Just give it throttle then.
stephen_bess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 08:01 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: RC Track
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

What is your idle gap? Try setting the carb back to factory settings. Given that you have 2 gallons on that engine, I would do 3 turns out on the HSN and about 4.5 turns out on the LSN. Set idle gap to 0.7mm (use a small paper clip to help with gap size)
Make sure your throttle end points are correct as well.

Another factor is how do you store your engine at the end of the day? Do you pinch the fuel line in order to let the engine clean itself out, or stop the flywheel and store it? If the latter, fuel will evaporate inside the engine leaving the oil only. Thus why you need to blip the throttle when starting as it needs to clean out.
sebtarta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 09:01 AM
  #6  
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,915
Default

Face it, after 2 gallons you will have some compression loss. Not much that the engine will not run but enough to notice with a cold start.

Needing to give some throttle to start it up is normal, no need to look for a solution and if you want one the remove 0.05mm headshim (replace an 0.15 for an 0.1)
Roelof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2019, 05:29 PM
  #7  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by sebtarta View Post
What is your idle gap? Try setting the carb back to factory settings. Given that you have 2 gallons on that engine, I would do 3 turns out on the HSN and about 4.5 turns out on the LSN. Set idle gap to 0.7mm (use a small paper clip to help with gap size)
Make sure your throttle end points are correct as well.

Another factor is how do you store your engine at the end of the day? Do you pinch the fuel line in order to let the engine clean itself out, or stop the flywheel and store it? If the latter, fuel will evaporate inside the engine leaving the oil only. Thus why you need to blip the throttle when starting as it needs to clean out.
I plug the exhaust ever time i stop it. idle gap is 0.6mm now thinking about it i do run the low end a little rich so that might be it.
jstaykov15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2019, 05:30 PM
  #8  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
Face it, after 2 gallons you will have some compression loss. Not much that the engine will not run but enough to notice with a cold start.

Needing to give some throttle to start it up is normal, no need to look for a solution and if you want one the remove 0.05mm headshim (replace an 0.15 for an 0.1)
The engine runs really well so im not gonna get into that. Im on 30% nitro with stock shimming. Funny thing is it will start without throttle when it runs after a while and gets to operating temp. I only heat it up to 170-180, im not really concerned about this just want to hear people' opinions if it's normal. Thank you
jstaykov15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2019, 06:44 PM
  #9  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (60)
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,644
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jstaykov15 View Post
The engine runs really well so im not gonna get into that. Im on 30% nitro with stock shimming. Funny thing is it will start without throttle when it runs after a while and gets to operating temp. I only heat it up to 170-180, im not really concerned about this just want to hear people' opinions if it's normal. Thank you
well when its up to operating temp it better start and idle well or your tune is off. my p5 always takes a little throttle to start as its only 150-170 deg so its still rich.. if when the motor is cold and it starts and idles good then you will be very lean once you get to operating temps which you know.. so don't sweat the little things.. enjoy racing and be glad you have a well tuned motor as there is a lot of guys that have a hard time tuning engines.
J.Whiting is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2019, 10:03 PM
  #10  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by J.Whiting View Post
well when its up to operating temp it better start and idle well or your tune is off. my p5 always takes a little throttle to start as its only 150-170 deg so its still rich.. if when the motor is cold and it starts and idles good then you will be very lean once you get to operating temps which you know.. so don't sweat the little things.. enjoy racing and be glad you have a well tuned motor as there is a lot of guys that have a hard time tuning engines.
Thank you, yeah i was thinking it was normal but wasn't really sure. I do see quite a lot of people at my track running their engines extremely lean lol. I will sure enjoy racing.
jstaykov15 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service