HPI K4.6 tuning issue

Old 08-22-2018, 06:50 AM
Tech Rookie

Default HPI K4.6 tuning issue

Hello,

I recently purchased an HPI Savage SS with the K4.6 and have been having some difficulty tuning it. I am new to nitro however I have been learning a lot and have made a lot of improvement with the engine so far as it would not idle, flame out constantly, no power, very inconsistent performance.

So far I have done the following:
  • Removed primer bulb as it was causing issue with leaning out and inconsistent idle, etc
  • Replaced fuel lines
  • Removed and RTV sealed mid speed needle to prevent it from moving
  • Removed and RTV sealed backplate
  • Removed piston and sleeve to test pinch, very good pinch, won't go past 1/4" from top
  • Stripped and cleaned engine internals

Symptoms I am experiencing:
  • Half tank or full tank; when it is first started, it takes 2-3mins to warm up and, it rips very well, wheelies easy, good accel, good top speed, temps around 210-240
  • I will then notice a bog happening on low end, sluggish to accel, decent top speed still, will not wheelie
  • Temps will start to rise
  • Idle will start becoming erratic it will start to idle quite high, sometimes briefly
  • Temps will start rising to 280-300+
  • I will attempt to richen HSN to lower temp and usually temps will lower, however still bog on low end and top end will start to lose power
  • I will adjust LSN however it doesn`t seem to matter which way I go it doesn`t change the bottom end
  • Spur gear nut is snugged tight