Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum
Scratched piston and sleeve; destroyed connection pin >

Scratched piston and sleeve; destroyed connection pin

Scratched piston and sleeve; destroyed connection pin

Old 04-30-2018, 07:25 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Scratched piston and sleeve; destroyed connection pin

What's going on everyone,
I'm new to RC and had a question regarding my HPI Savage X with the F4.6 engine. It's got about 2 gallon of 20%. I first had an issue when I would start the car but wouldn't move when I applied full throttle. The engine wouldn't even rev at high rpms. I thought it had to do something with the clutch shoes so I took the engine out and inspecte
d the shoes which were worn out. It still didn't make sense that engine wasn't revving at high rpms despite giving it full throttle.
I decided to take the entire engine apart since I had the engine off the vehicle already. When i removed the piston and sleeve i noticed that a few pieces of metal came out. I then realized that it was the pin that held the piston head to the con rod. I removed the pin and inspected the head and noticed that there was a very deep scratch and also noticed the sleeve was scratched as well. What can cause just the pin to shatter? A shattered con rod seems to be more common. Will I be able to reuse the piston and sleeve or do i need to buy a new set. They're pretty pricey. Will I need a whole new engine?
Old 04-30-2018, 08:26 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Hi there you probably ran your engine to lean in this truck. So what you have to do is replace the piston,sleeve conrod and pin and probably the head. Or it might be cheaper just to buy a new engine while your at it. Also get a new clutch shoes and springs for this engine. So go on line and look for HPI which is the mfg of this vehicle and see if they have these parts available and find someone locally who could help you replace all these componets
good day