nitro engine wont start

Old 04-12-2018, 10:43 AM
Tech Rookie

Default nitro engine wont start

Im not very good with nitro engines or engines in general so forgive me

I got like 3-4 nitro rc cars from my grandfather and started working on one. I took the engine apart and cleaned everything and put it back together because it wouldnt start.

After putting it back together we get it to start once with the glow starter in as soon as I pulled it off it turned off. Now what its doing is we turned on the remote and stuff and we use this black thing that spins the motor in the back if we give it throttle with the remote while spinning the motor it sometimes fires up and the wheels move and it goes like its started (obviously we hold it) as soon as i stop spinning the engine it wont stay on. and goes back to not wanting to start up it sometimes sounds like its going to fire up and sometimes sounds like it doesnt want to at all. I dont know what to do anymore
Old 04-12-2018, 03:49 PM
Tech Initiate

First what rc are u trying to start? And what motor does it have you can find some kind of markings on the motor to tell me an everyone what it is. You need to look at the high speed needle/low speed needle and idle needle. For starting a nitro you need your glow starter to be charged. You need to take out the glow plug thats what the glow starter connects to. You need to see if its glowing nice and bright. You should be using fresh fuel car fuel if u do not know