Wiki Posts
Search

The Future of Offroad in Portland

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2012, 04:31 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default The Future of Offroad in Portland

Well the rumors have been answered and PRCR is closing. I know I am new to the offroad scene but I am not ready to go cold turkey for the winter. Since I started racing offroad in the spring I have had one of the best RC experiences ever. I have made many new friends, had plenty of awesome battles (except those with Joey LOL), and traveled to some killer 3 day events. The offroad scene in Portland is currently alive a thriving. Last week there were 76 entries at Dave's and 47 on a Tuesday at PRCR.

Back in the day when I started racing (88-92) there were multiple offroad tracks in the Metro area including RC Cars (Dana's) in Vancouver, Race City USA in Vancouver, Rose City RC at 142nd and Stark, Hillsboro Fairgrounds in the winter, Salem Fairgrounds in the winter, Aero in the Summer, and RC Plus in the summer.

We have 2 months and counting before we are without a track.

The Purpose of this thread is to put together people and ideas to get a track, club, facility, RD, Software and Loop, etc together.

So if anyone has any ideas, the hook up on a cheap facility or fairgrounds please post it here. If your going to buy PRCR or opening a new RC track please let us know!

If there is a way to keep PRCR open for 5-6 more months let us know.

If there is now chance of keeping PRCR open, I am thinking our best chance is to mimic was was done at Hillsboro and Salem fairgrounds. It was cold but at least we had a track and racing. We could get a club like BARC going and everyone pitch in for building a driver's stand, track maintenance, and pay an RD. I know of 3 Scoring Pro licenses and loops not used in the winter. We could hopefully set it up to start up as Dave's ends and end when Dave's begins in the Spring.

Any thoughts?

Troy Mckune

Last edited by Troy Mckune; 09-05-2012 at 07:02 PM.