Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > North American Regional Forums > Northwest Racers
Seattle RC Racers/Hangar 30 >

Seattle RC Racers/Hangar 30

Like Tree369Likes

Seattle RC Racers/Hangar 30

Old 01-02-2013, 01:20 PM
  #11761  
Tech Master
 
cementsurfer86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Tapps, WA
Posts: 1,165
Default

Phil runs the Reventon Pro in his stock tc and likes it. The brakes are a touch on the soft side though....
cementsurfer86 is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 02:30 PM
  #11762  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (84)
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,104
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Brakes are adjustable . But who uses brakes in stock????
jeff jenkins is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 02:53 PM
  #11763  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Magnet Top's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,084
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Mod 12th December 29, 2012

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WVsLru7t8vM
Magnet Top is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 03:07 PM
  #11764  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jeff jenkins
Brakes are adjustable . But who uses brakes in stock????
I used them a little on the old layout, but I just realized I never once used them, even with no drag brake, on the new layout.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 03:14 PM
  #11765  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,635
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by grippgoat
I used them a little on the old layout, but I just realized I never once used them, even with no drag brake, on the new layout.

-Mike
I use lots of drag brake. Brakes are a key to making a consistent car IMO. Also there nice if you need to push into a corner harder and slow down faster!
Kody is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 03:44 PM
  #11766  
Tech Regular
 
The Fog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hear, Now.
Posts: 450
Default

Originally Posted by jeff jenkins
Brakes are adjustable . But who uses brakes in stock????
How the heck do you brake check with out brakes !!

Jacko
The Fog is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 03:47 PM
  #11767  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Samwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the inside info!

My main concern with the LRP is durability. I had two LRP Stock Spec ESC's and the cases on both cracked open, causing both ESCs to fail eventually.

That said, the Flow looks a lot more durable. I'm just wary of buying another LRP after losing $400 worth of electronics in one year. I don't mean this as an insult to LRP at all, just a nagging concern I have and something I hope to avoid in the future of course. Again, I think it was the plastic design of the Stock Spec case, and I've seen that the Flow has an aluminum case, which is excellent.

Anyway, thank you again for the info everyone! It's also nice to hear what battery brands people recommend, thanks for that too!

Peace,
Samwise


Originally Posted by Kody
Forgot the ESC question. The HW is great but guys talk about having problems with the brakes. The new Flow is amazing. Last Saturday was my first outing with it. Super easy to get right for Mod and was super smooth. 5.0 in blinky mode had plenty of easy to handle rip. I'll be testing out an ORCA at some point as well but from how it felt in Keith's car I'd buy it over the HW if your not interested in the LRP.

K
Samwise is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 03:57 PM
  #11768  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
T-Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: La Center
Posts: 2,693
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by The Fog
How the heck do you brake check with out brakes !!

Jacko
The last time you used brakes was back in 1976 to stop for that hot chick you are with Just keep Kody in front of you, he has enough brakes for two cars
T-Hawk is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 05:17 PM
  #11769  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kody
I use lots of drag brake. Brakes are a key to making a consistent car IMO. Also there nice if you need to push into a corner harder and slow down faster!
Stock, mod, or just in general?

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 05:25 PM
  #11770  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Samwise
That said, the Flow looks a lot more durable.
That's the one that caused Ronald Volker to DNS an ETS race last year, because he blew up all his ESCs. Those were development version, but still fun to bring that up!

I've always been curious about trying an LRP, since the guys that run them insist they're awesome. But then I see how many people, not just "on the internet" but actual locals I race with, have had reliability problems, followed by horrible customer service, and it makes me wary, too.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 05:27 PM
  #11771  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Maybell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Its personal preference...even in stock... Some guys like to use alot of push brake instead of drag brake. Others like a bunch of drag brake so they dont need to use as much push brake.

It does seem that most world class drivers like tons of drag brake these days..

I believe using alot of drag brake is faster, but it can take some time to get used to.
Maybell is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 05:28 PM
  #11772  
OVA
Tech Lord
iTrader: (86)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 10,327
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by grippgoat
Stock, mod, or just in general?

-Mike
I know kody use drag brake for stock not sure about the mod..I know keith Yu use drag brake too in stock...
My timming arn't that great for drag brake..you have to get back on throttle as soon you done drag braking ...

Last edited by OVA; 01-02-2013 at 08:58 PM.
OVA is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 08:38 PM
  #11773  
Tech Master
 
cementsurfer86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Tapps, WA
Posts: 1,165
Default

To me, drag brake would feel like the old brushed motors, which would actually be kinda nice.... back then NO drag brake was needed lol.
cementsurfer86 is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 08:43 PM
  #11774  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Novak edge doesn't have drag brake, does it?
edhchoe is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 08:47 PM
  #11775  
Tech Master
 
cementsurfer86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Tapps, WA
Posts: 1,165
Default

Originally Posted by edhchoe
Novak edge doesn't have drag brake, does it?
It does, you just have to dial it in on the speedo. (blinking light method...lol)
cementsurfer86 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.