Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > North American Regional Forums > Northwest Racers
Seattle RC Racers/Hangar 30 >

Seattle RC Racers/Hangar 30

Like Tree369Likes

Seattle RC Racers/Hangar 30

Old 05-06-2009, 12:28 PM
  #646  
Suspended
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Everett
Posts: 1,428
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

heh....1 set left, I will start the bidding @ $45.00

BTW Wes, you guys have any old school M11's or Ko's,
No...never have...we don't actually carry Airtronics or KO...this is Revo country up here, DX3R is as fancy as it gets...
Wes Briscoe is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 01:00 PM
  #647  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PacNW
Posts: 3,010
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wes Briscoe
heh....1 set left, I will start the bidding @ $45.00



No...never have...we don't actually carry Airtronics or KO...this is Revo country up here, DX3R is as fancy as it gets...
Last night someone told me the DX3R looks like a "gay ear thermometer".

jubilee is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 01:05 PM
  #648  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
gwhiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 966
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

so what
gwhiz is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 01:31 PM
  #649  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PacNW
Posts: 3,010
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gwhiz
so what
That's what I said.
jubilee is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 03:58 PM
  #650  
Tech Rookie
 
TC4Newb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16
Default

hey everyone

I recently give in to my need to get into r/c racing. Its been about 10 years since I had a car. I have been emailing Todd, and I am going to come out next week. He's going to let me use some tires.

I bought a used tc4 that was allready set up for racing. I am in the process of changing the motor to the silver can and getting it set up for the track at hanger 30.

I brought it into the hallways of my apartment building last night and was supprised to find that I have a really hard time braking. It brakes much less then on pavement. The ESC it came with is a dynamite power pulse, not the best but will have to do for now.

Any advice on setup would be much appreciated. I have never raced or owned a touring car before. I have been able to take it out and drive on some good asphalt. I have the setup guide and have played with a few things, the car was the "X" block in the back, toe in is reduced. I have the blue springs and the full swaybar set, I'll figure out which thickness is set on it, but I may not change it out, just start from there, the car was pretty good on the pavement, as long as I can brake the same as I was it will probbly handle pretty well on carpet.
TC4Newb is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 04:31 PM
  #651  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
beez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

First... welcome.

I wouldn't worry too much about braking with a silvercan, a lot of silvercan success comes from clean lines and carrying as much speed as possible through the corners because the motors aren't that powerful.

I also wouldn't worry too much about your setup on asphalt because when you put it on the carpet, it's completely different.

Just bring what you've got and start running, if it's doing something that you don't like, ask around, you'll get more advice than you can handle. I would try to listen mostly to the fastest guys.
beez is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 04:37 PM
  #652  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
gwhiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 966
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TC4Newb
I brought it into the hallways of my apartment building last night and was supprised to find that I have a really hard time braking. It brakes much less then on pavement.
The previous hallway racers probably had been using Jack the Gripper.
gwhiz is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 04:48 PM
  #653  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,682
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by beez
I would try to listen mostly to the fastest guys.
and your posting advice..why?.


TC4Newb, as you can see, we like ripping on others, its all in fun.
but it was good advise
skypilot is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 05:18 PM
  #654  
Tech Master
iTrader: (63)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,543
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by skypilot
and your posting advice..why?.


TC4Newb, as you can see, we like ripping on others, its all in fun.
but it was good advise
Now thats funny
The Wease is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 07:55 PM
  #655  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PacNW
Posts: 3,010
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by skypilot
and your posting advice..why?.


TC4Newb, as you can see, we like ripping on others, its all in fun.
but it was good advise
Dave you just got pwnd by Mr Miyagi HIMSELF!

Now get back out there and paint that fence.

jubilee is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 08:03 PM
  #656  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,682
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

i knew you would enjoy that.
skypilot is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 08:13 PM
  #657  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
beez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by skypilot
and your posting advice..why?.

Oooohh.. that's low... but true.

That's why my advice was basically "Just bring it and have somebody help you". It works for me.
beez is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 08:13 PM
  #658  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PacNW
Posts: 3,010
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by skypilot
i knew you would enjoy that.
you missed out last night. our little corner of the trcr pits was almost more fun than the racing.
jubilee is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 10:22 PM
  #659  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 177
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PutAwayWet
I'll post it here. Someone else might find it useful . . . . . . .

. . . . Todd M.
That explains about 30 reasons I can't get my TA05 dialed in.
rknott is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 10:58 PM
  #660  
Tech Rookie
 
TC4Newb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16
Default

I am stuck with a few older battery packs right now, except for a 3000 nimh that I just bought.

I was wondering if a few year old "piranha" 1500 nicad would have enough juice to make it one race on the silver can.

Jeff
TC4Newb is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.