Radio Set up tip

Old 10-29-2012, 06:28 PM
  #16  
Tech Adept
 
TracySlatten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Seattle
Posts: 211
Default

Originally Posted by LadiesFirst View Post
What if you don't have "subtrim" just regular trim?
I have in the past and currently on my car have centered the servo itself. Some servos have a feedback pot in the servo, usually adjusted at the factory. However after measureing arm lengths, servo position and centering all trims on the radio your spline does not line up where you want, you can adjust the servo pot. Looking down the shaft of the servo where the servo saver screw would go, you may notice a slot way down in there. With the radio on, if you turn the screw to the right, the servo spline will move to the left. Left turn and it goes to the right. It is very small amount of adjustment, so small that just putting pressure on the feedback pot is enough to start seeing the servo creep. This is an old school trick when sub trims were not around. I make no claim that this can be done with every servo, and may void warranty....
If your curious, try it with an old servo first to get the hang of what will happen when there is power to the servo and the adjustment is made.
Make sure you have a well fitting screwsriver with no slop in the slot. You do not want to damage the feedback pot.

From what I know the sub-trim is for doing just this. The sub-trim will center the spline and not effect the other trims,E/P or rates.
Tracy

Last edited by TracySlatten; 10-29-2012 at 06:30 PM. Reason: .
TracySlatten is offline  
Old 10-30-2012, 09:58 PM
  #17  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (11)
 
C_O_jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wa.
Posts: 9,055
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

or, just adjust the length of the turn buckle connected to the servo with your radio trim centered.
C_O_jones is offline  
Old 10-31-2012, 05:32 PM
  #18  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
jwg191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sultan, Washington
Posts: 1,247
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

What is the difference between sub trim and the regular trim. If both do the same why would D/R not effect the sub trim.
jwg191 is offline  
Old 11-01-2012, 12:36 AM
  #19  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: In a VAN down by the RIVER
Posts: 801
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jwg191 View Post
What is the difference between sub trim and the regular trim. If both do the same why would D/R not effect the sub trim.
Trim only moves the center point... if you set trim to the right, you will be closer to the right endpoint (uneven throw). Sub trim moves the center point and the end points... if you set sub trim to the right, the the end points move to the right also (even throw).
Sofa King is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.