Looking at starting at the gate...

Old 03-28-2011, 10:13 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Looking at starting at the gate...

hey guys!

im up here in mentor, and im looking to start racing at the gate..only problem is i need a whole new esc and motor. last year in md we were running 17.5 motors and i have a mamba 1S edition esc. and now i gotta find another setup.

im using an xray t1 and a possibly getting my wife set up with a tc3 or tt01e to run into stuff with... looks like im going to have to sell some guns for cash to fund my addiction...
Old 03-28-2011, 11:11 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Originally Posted by tcalpino View Post
hey guys!

im up here in mentor, and im looking to start racing at the gate..only problem is i need a whole new esc and motor. last year in md we were running 17.5 motors and i have a mamba 1S edition esc. and now i gotta find another setup.

im using an xray t1 and a possibly getting my wife set up with a tc3 or tt01e to run into stuff with... looks like im going to have to sell some guns for cash to fund my addiction...
Our rubber tire touring car class is using 17.5 motors and non-timing speed controls. I'm assuming your esc is the mamba max pro set for 1s which is programmable and can accommodate the no timing rule. Not sure if your speed control needs modification to work with 2S batteries or if Castle has a trade in program. My Hobbywing 1S will work fine with up to 3S so it may be worth checking with Castle before buying something new. Speed Passion has a Cirtix line of speed controls that I believe retail for less than $60 and Novak has some lower cost alternatives that would work fine for this class. ROAR should have the listing of approved speed controls on their website. I think the URL is ROARRACING.com.
Old 03-28-2011, 12:20 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

glad to hear it. if you need any servos ... (i've been peddling these with no bites thus far)