R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-19-2006, 10:20 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 5
Default NovaMega will not start, can you help

I had my [B]NovaMega sx12 re Turbo running great. I worked in the engine the right way, I have been racing for a long time. This engine only had about six to eight tanks ran threw it from the start so I didn't even lean it out yet. The plug still glows red, but when I pulled out the plug to check it the plug was wet. Is there a good setting that someone has out there that I can try just to get it started and then I can go from there??? Thanks for your time.
chefcrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 10:26 AM   #2
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

If it was running great before and not now. I wouldnt change the needle settings. Do you have new fuel? Have you checked the motors internals , was it stored?
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 10:50 AM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 5
Default

Yes I have new fuel and I also checked inside to make sure everything was in good shape, looks like brand new. I did have it stored for about a year, before I stored it I put after-run oil into it so I wouldn't get rust.
chefcrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 11:45 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Try another new plug.....grow red not necessary mean they are good.
Check idle gap, may be too close...

keep updating...cause there can be 1000 different way to cause engine won't fired up...
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 05:52 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: mentor, ohio
Posts: 199
Default

After run is like a rust helper. every motor i have ever put after run in has rusted. I would flush out the motor with raw fuel and change the plug and try it
Dan D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 07:45 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
rcabj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: johor, west malaysia
Posts: 4,682
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i too have had problems when my motor has been kept more than a month or so.....but usually fine tuning will solve the problem ...yes i agree like what Dan D mention, ... good luck..
__________________
BLacK cRoW RaCiNg TeaM
JBRCC
TEAM ORANGE
RCCUTM
pemandu upahan ;)
rcabj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 08:24 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default

you guys are doing somthing wrong then.... I've kept my motors for more than 6 monts at a time without any kind of rust..and they start up first try after sitting for that long.........
are you making sure all the fuel is goine before adding afer run oil?
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 08:51 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: mentor, ohio
Posts: 199
Default

I think the motor is better off sitting with an excess of fuel in it then after run oil
Dan D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 11:32 PM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 5
Default

You should never keep fuel in you engine when you store it. That is way you have rust inside. This type of fuel sucks up moisture that is why thay make after-run oils. Hey thanks for the help, I had the glow plug in mind but I wasn't sure. Thanks I'll keep you posted.
chefcrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 12:21 AM   #10
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

I had a motor sit for maybe 1-2 years. The after-run oil and probably fuel gummed the carb completely up. I had to fully dissamble and clean the thing. Then it ran fine.

But yeah , new plug , new fuel , new glow starter battery. This is a must to get a motor to fire right. Especially after long storage....running old plugs just begs for you to suck in the wire and scar up the motor.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
***Traxxas EZ Start 2 handheld starter and 4 ez start systems*** MattP R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 08-18-2007 07:49 PM
TRX 2.5 w/ pipe, header, Roto Start backplate, Complete EZ Start system milt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 06-29-2006 04:29 PM
NovaMega will not start, can you help chefcrw Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 1 01-19-2006 12:04 PM
Wanted Pull start/roto start for collari .30 seajj2 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 08-31-2005 05:51 PM
Exactly how do you start a pull-start motor? <Don't flame me because I'm dumb!> Vyrus Track Locator Forum 1 08-20-2004 06:39 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:40 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net