R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2006, 12:38 AM   #16
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 193
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyT
You`ll need digital servo`s if youre wanting to use the Futaba HRS system .....you`ll also need them to run the new Spektrum HRS receiver with the Futaba 3PK transmitter.
Cheers
Hi AndyT , I can't seem to find the specs on that new Spektrum HRS rx.. any info/link? Thanks in advance..
OrAnGe PoWeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 01:18 AM   #17
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boiceville, New York
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'm running a Futaba 3PM radio with HRS. For servos I'm using 9451 on throttle & a 9550 low pro for steering on my r40. For me this is an awsome set up. Way faster than ppm with 3003 servos. If cost is an issue digital may not be the way you want to go since they are damn near $100 per servo. Also they do suck more juice from the battery but I always use 2 sets per race day any way because batteries suck. So far I've done a full season with this rig & no failures yet.
__________________
TM, Murnan, RB, Morgan, Nomadio, GQ, Integy, GP, Duratrax, Protoform, Cruisin, Raceday, Wolf
GBagRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 01:41 AM   #18
B4
Tech Addict
 
B4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 642
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You can't go past good quality servo's either Futaba or KO my preference is Futaba though. Don't cheat yourself as in the end you'll more than likely pay for trying to save a few dollars in the short term. I've have never had an issue with current drain as I allways make sure I'm on top of the amount of charge left in the batteries during the day.
B4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 04:34 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Harwood, MD
Posts: 2,526
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Slot, who's digital servo was it? Hitec?
THE DOCTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 05:20 AM   #20
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cebu
Posts: 594
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mykel chua
Default

would an 1100mah batt work good with a 9402 and a 9451 servo?
mykel chua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 07:00 AM   #21
Tech Regular
 
E.T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: $ $ $ $ $ $
Posts: 315
Default

Hi guys, so digital servos works faster. I currently using the old EX-1 Mars, this TX & RX does not have the HRS function. So, my question is, it is compatible with digital servos?? or should I just stick with those older models of servos???
Thanks.
E.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 07:11 AM   #22
Tech Regular
 
E.T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: $ $ $ $ $ $
Posts: 315
Default

Sorry, what I mean is that it is a waste of time & money to fit a digital servo for a kit that does not support the HRS system.
E.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 07:16 AM   #23
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Digital has more resolution , so they can hold a straighter line and basically have more torque being applied as they update their position faster. Reason why more power is being sucked due to the fact its trying to get to the position your dialing more times per second. As well a few other things.

You can use digital with regular / spektrum / hrs. Only thing you cannot do is use non-digital on hrs.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 07:20 AM   #24
Tech Regular
 
E.T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: $ $ $ $ $ $
Posts: 315
Default

OIC, thanks, Artificial-I...
E.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 02:23 PM   #25
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Harwood, MD
Posts: 2,526
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykel chua
would an 1100mah batt work good with a 9402 and a 9451 servo?

Yes, people where using 800mah last year with no problems.
THE DOCTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 03:40 PM   #26
Tech Master
 
hav_lova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney Model Autosports (SMA)
Posts: 1,387
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE DOCTOR
Yes, people where using 800mah last year with no problems.

How long would a 1200mah battery last with 2 digital servos?
__________________
Just playing with bigger toys now...
serpentrc.com.au
hav_lova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 05:55 PM   #27
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: KISSIMMEE,FLORIDA
Posts: 700
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

my recomendation is to use a digital or high speed for steering, and a standard for throtle. this way if your battery dumps you lose only steering not throtle control.so you can stop the car
__________________
Ahhh the smell of nitro in the morning!
Brooklyn Hobbies Team Driver
[url]www.brooklynhobbies.com[/url]
Team Trinity
[url]www.teamtrinity.com[/url]
Gary Figueroa
GFIGUEROA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 07:06 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Harwood, MD
Posts: 2,526
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hav_lova
How long would a 1200mah battery last with 2 digital servos?

At least a hour. Now they have 1400mah batteries if your worried about it.
THE DOCTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 07:15 PM   #29
Tech Master
 
TC_Tuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE Wisco
Posts: 1,072
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MANINTHEMUGEN
my recomendation is to use a digital or high speed for steering, and a standard for throtle. this way if your battery dumps you lose only steering not throtle control.so you can stop the car
Sorry, but this isn't the way it works. Dead battery = dead battery, not just power loss to one servo. Not starting anything here, but this is a dangerous suggestion that is just not based on reality.

When looking at the specs on an analog servo, the number are MAX values. For example, 100oz torque would be at full deflection, but typically makes less that half of this near center. Digital servos make the same torque value in any position or location.

Something that is SUPER important especially with digital servos - correctly set the end point values WITH the dual rate settings at their max value. I have seen many people that set the end points with the dual rates at 100%, but they can go to 125% or 150%. This puts a tremendous strain on the servo when it's mechanically bound. This will always cause premature failure and reduce battery run time significantly.

Me? I run Airtronics digital servos in my electric and nitro touring cars. Killer performance, easy access to repair parts, and compatible with most every system.

my $.02
TC_Tuner
__________________
Airtronics | Byron's Fuel | Pro-Line | OS | Kyosho | Ballistic Batteries | RIP Al's Hobby Shop
MRX4-X F180 Cobra Zipper Kart Yokomo BD Cup Racer FM1e Recoil M18 Pro Scalpel dNaNo Baja 5T HB D8 Vorza ERevo Savage Flux SCX10 GT2 T4 Slash Ten SCTE Blitz ESE HB Cyclone D4 Mini ERevo Vendetta ST Mini T Micro T
TC_Tuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 07:23 PM   #30
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Harwood, MD
Posts: 2,526
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TC_Tuner
Sorry, but this isn't the way it works. Dead battery = dead battery, not just power loss to one servo. Not starting anything here, but this is a dangerous suggestion that is just not based on reality.

When looking at the specs on an analog servo, the number are MAX values. For example, 100oz torque would be at full deflection, but typically makes less that half of this near center. Digital servos make the same torque value in any position or location.

Something that is SUPER important especially with digital servos - correctly set the end point values WITH the dual rate settings at their max value. I have seen many people that set the end points with the dual rates at 100%, but they can go to 125% or 150%. This puts a tremendous strain on the servo when it's mechanically bound. This will always cause premature failure and reduce battery run time significantly.

Me? I run Airtronics digital servos in my electric and nitro touring cars. Killer performance, easy access to repair parts, and compatible with most every system.

my $.02
TC_Tuner
Which ones are you running? Have they broke before?
THE DOCTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB DIGITAL SERVOS sKiMpYbOy R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 03-23-2008 06:15 PM
FUTABA Servos Digital Brushless BLS451 and Digital S9351 SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-11-2007 06:18 PM
Hitec 925MG, 625MG servos, digital or non digital Cain R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-09-2007 03:17 PM
Digital servos fs sharkman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-19-2005 11:36 PM
Digital Servos? kiteflyer54 Rookie Zone 7 01-12-2005 02:13 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:22 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net