R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2006, 11:17 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 221
Send a message via AIM to TCRacerPro
Default Engine Problems on AE NTC3 + ... break-in???

I just purchased a brand new NTC3 +. This is a first time for me to encounter this problem during break-in. I charged up my Glow Plug starter and checked all the factory settings. Im using the Trinity 20% Nitro Fuel Break-In blend, and it starts up and idles fine... (with the Glow plug starter still attached). But once i remove the glow plug starter after approx. 30-45 seconds the engine would cut off. I double checked the glow plug, and also replaced glow plug with others, and the problem still occurs. Can anybody help me out, i tried almost everything i can think of. Thanks in advance.
TCRacerPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 11:23 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
hav_lova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney Model Autosports (SMA)
Posts: 1,387
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

bring the revs up a little idling too low is bad for your motor! what sort of temp has the motor got in it? give it a rev if its dying
__________________
Just playing with bigger toys now...
serpentrc.com.au
hav_lova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 11:31 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 221
Send a message via AIM to TCRacerPro
Default

Attempted to rev the motor, and problem still occurs even if i set the idle higher. Motor got pretty hot at one time, so i let it cool and made the fuel a little richer. It starts right up but as soon as i remove the glow plug starter, it still dies. How long should i keep the glow starter on the motor? Factory noted 20-30 sec. for break in or until motor is warm. Or maybe should i keep it there longer even if the motor is warm???
TCRacerPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 11:49 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Motorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,911
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

change the plug.
__________________
Just here to give the world grief.
Motorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 12:15 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 221
Send a message via AIM to TCRacerPro
Default

i did that You think the motor is defective?!
TCRacerPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 12:58 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
SSmoked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Posts: 170
Send a message via MSN to SSmoked
Default

if it doesnt die with the glow plug starter on, leave it on and pick it up off the ground, slow accel and try to max it out off the ground slowly for just a few seconds. then see how it runs and take the plug out and see if it stays running. might help, seems to work sometimes on my maxx when its being a pos.
SSmoked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 01:28 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default

I think its too rich.....
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 03:57 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: it's only illegal if you get caught!
Posts: 562
Default

either bottom end is too rich or your idle is too low so when you come back to idle it dies because the carb is closing too much
ae_ntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 07:22 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
AndyT 's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 862
Default

Sounds like its running either too rich, or you may be running too cold a plug.
Also make sure your fuel is fresh........dud fuel can have these symptoms too.
AndyT  is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 07:49 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 221
Send a message via AIM to TCRacerPro
Default

After four different glow plugs i finally got it to run like it should. Factory glow plug dont work and dont buy cheapo glow plugs. Used a hotter plug and it runs like a charm!!! Thank you all for your replies!
TCRacerPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 06:39 PM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 3
Default

if you had to go to a hotter plug to make it run at an idle, your low speed needle setting is way too rich.
Fuelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Axial .28RR Break In Problems-Please Help losi guy Nitro Off-Road 8 02-29-2008 09:04 AM
picco .26 break in problems please help! atebit Rookie Zone 33 08-12-2007 06:54 AM
Hyper.21 Break in and Problems DrIfT'R' Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 06-06-2004 04:52 PM
Ntc3 Rtr Break In? dvargas Nitro On-Road 4 04-04-2003 04:10 PM
HELP! Break-in/Engine Problems with HPI MT 4x4 Kit! paze Electric Off-Road 8 03-10-2003 02:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:39 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net