R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-15-2002, 11:25 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: RaNcHo CuCaMoNgA, cA
Posts: 9
Default ported 15fe

has anyone ported an 15fe? Ive got one sitting around and i want to experiement on it
gjkwb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2002, 12:25 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I have ported one before. Made enough power to move a Tamiya TGX 1/8 scale and shift it into 2nd with some oomph. It is a good motor to experiment different porting/mods. But, get a two-needle carb for it afterwards. It helps in turning and sweezing a bit more speed out of the motor due to the low-end needle.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2002, 01:42 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Porting a 15FE

Get a 2 needle carb, then remove any casting flash from inside the crankcase. Leave the ports alone, they are plenty large enough to flow more fuel. I use a Traxxas 6mm rotary carb modified to fit the HPI .15FE.
This engine has almost as much power as a Novarossi, almost. Maybe with a large slide carb. It's on my 7 yr olds Nitro2 and is more than enough power for him right now.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2002, 03:16 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: RaNcHo CuCaMoNgA, cA
Posts: 9
Default

do u have any suggestions on how to do the porting? Ive never done it before, and ive also got a 6mm traxxas carb, what do ineed to do to make it fit on the 15fe? thanks
gjkwb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2002, 06:30 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Porting a .15FE

A Dremel tool with non-Ferris (for Aluminum) grinding bits is used. You'll need a selection of several different shapes and diameters to get the best results.
To install a Traxxas carb on the .15FE, you must drill & tap holes for the mounting screws like the stock carb on the FE has.
Some O.S. Carbs have them already. HPI sells Hop-Up kits on it's online speed shop.
I'm a Maintenance machinist/mechanic by trade so this stuff comes easier for me.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Better carb for the 15FE Speed_Racer R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-11-2005 03:08 PM
My .15fe won't run ShgnWgn008 Nitro On-Road 0 07-09-2005 09:08 PM
15FE new carb? Frostmann Nitro On-Road 6 04-16-2004 02:33 PM
rs4 3 - .12SS vs. .15FE CaptEvo Nitro On-Road 28 01-01-2003 10:15 PM
hpi .15fe help mavrickhunter Nitro On-Road 1 11-28-2002 04:22 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:24 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net