R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-13-2002, 01:14 AM   #1
Suspended
 
maxboost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: long beach, ca
Posts: 142
Send a message via ICQ to maxboost
Default how to prime w/o primer?

i just took my primer off due to leaks, my question is how do u prime it w/o the primer? i heard someone says to blow the pressure line til the fuel gets in the carb? is this right?
maxboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 01:29 AM   #2
acs
Tech Adept
 
acs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 06 Worlds Track ^
Posts: 204
Default

you can put your finger over the exhaust tip and turn your motor over with the pull start or starter box

or you can block the carby and turn the motor over

both ways will draw fuel into the motor
acs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 01:29 AM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
toolmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 18
Default

You can cover the stinger while cranking the engine. The exhaust pressure will force the fuel out of the tank and into the carb. I also use a small pump from a pneumatic Lego set that I have. Just attach a length of fuel line to it and connect the other end to the pressure fitting on the tank's cap. Just give it 1 pump, just enough for the fuel to reach the carb.

Last edited by toolmon; 11-13-2002 at 11:41 PM.
toolmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 01:39 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

If you have a starter box, there really is no reason you need to prime your engine. But I've found the easiest way is to just disconnect the pressure line from the pipe and blow in it lightly. its fast and doesn't make you turn over the engine. It does the exact same thing, but you can control more easily how much fuel and how close the fuel is to the carb. Just another choice...I'm lazy, and find it uses less physical exertion.

Heck, that's my screen name! ( i didn't see that at first)
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 01:45 AM   #5
Suspended
 
maxboost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: long beach, ca
Posts: 142
Send a message via ICQ to maxboost
Default

my lines are all zip tied, how many pulls does it take to prime the carb?
maxboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 01:50 AM   #6
acs
Tech Adept
 
acs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 06 Worlds Track ^
Posts: 204
Default

you should see the fuel move up the tubing on each pull

keep going untill the fuel reaches the carb then start the car as usual
acs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 02:00 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

which is why I wonder why they don't make clear purple fuel tubing... Hmmm?

*Purple is pretty*
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 02:03 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

oh yeah, and as toolmoon said, it takes about 1-2 good fast pulls. I still suggest blowing it in b/c you can control the fuel better and prevent any chance for flooding if you go crazy w/ the pulling * "no that is not a lawn mower buddy" *
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 02:49 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia, wollongong
Posts: 740
Send a message via ICQ to V-One S
Default

I prefer opening the throttle to full throttle blocking the stinger and giving it a one more pull after it reaches the carb then going back to slight throttle to start it normally, my pressure line is a bitch to put on when the engine is shut down, yet alone idling while it is cold and oiling up.
V-One S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 04:17 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

i meant to say that you do this prior to even putting the glow ignitor on the glow plug. But that is obviously a problem for certain cars. I try to make it easier to do if I find it hard to pull and replace the pressure line on the pressure nipple ( I don't know what else to call it )
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2002, 12:38 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia, wollongong
Posts: 740
Send a message via ICQ to V-One S
Default

Thats what it is called a pressure nipple, lol
V-One S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i get the primer out? Leyler Nitro On-Road 3 08-07-2007 03:10 PM
Looking for an RC Electric Car Primer GulfstreamIVCap Electric Off-Road 1 05-30-2006 08:05 PM
primer look tekone Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography 3 05-27-2006 12:31 AM
Won't prime Team Duratrax Rookie Zone 14 07-31-2005 05:32 AM
NEW HPI NITRO FUEL TANK W/ PRIMER (75cc) AND TUNED PIPE (COMPOSITE NYLON) bst R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-26-2004 02:46 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:25 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net