R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2003, 01:01 PM   #901
Tech Regular
 
JABRONI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: BROKE BACK WYOMING
Posts: 333
Default Bodies

All I ever use is Protoform Bodies.

Both the Stratus 2.0 and 2.1 are ROAR Approved for racing.

Attached is a Photo
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 7052.jpg (24.2 KB, 93 views)
JABRONI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 01:05 PM   #902
Tech Adept
 
tennessee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 241
Default Re: Bodies

Quote:
Originally posted by JABRONI
All I ever use is Protoform Bodies.

Both the Stratus 2.0 and 2.1 are ROAR Approved for racing.

Attached is a Photo
Kept having the old "tuck & fold " with the 2.1

Have since gone back to the old stratus

Last edited by tennessee; 03-30-2003 at 01:16 PM.
tennessee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 01:15 PM   #903
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: TEXAS. USA
Posts: 1,219
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

Quote:
Kept having the old "tuck & fold " with the 2.1
Dont hit anything!!


Quote:
Have since gone back to the 2.0
Isn't the 2.0 the 190mm body (eletric)???
PUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 01:19 PM   #904
Tech Adept
 
tennessee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PUNISHER
Dont hit anything!!




Isn't the 2.0 the 190mm body (eletric)???
Was'nt hitting anything

Just that my car was so fast that the rear end would tuck up under the rear of the car

The rear body posts should be moved back about a 1/2 inch
tennessee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 02:44 PM   #905
Tech Regular
 
supra528's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: T-Dot/Vancouver-Whistler
Posts: 454
Default

please please please please please please please can i see some pics of ur cars?????
supra528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 03:20 PM   #906
Tech Adept
 
tennessee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 241
Default

I need a camera
tennessee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 03:29 PM   #907
Tech Regular
 
supra528's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: T-Dot/Vancouver-Whistler
Posts: 454
Default

wat does sealing carbon fiber mean??? and wat does it do , and should you do it??
supra528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 05:34 PM   #908
Tech Master
 
modellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,447
Default

Selaing Carbon Fibre means running a thin layer of CA glue around the freshly cut edges to stop them splintering and chipping etc. If you dont do it the Carbon parts will fall apart a lot sooner and will be more prone to fracturing or snapping in even small crashes.
modellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 05:45 PM   #909
Tech Regular
 
supra528's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: T-Dot/Vancouver-Whistler
Posts: 454
Default

do you have to sand the edges down first?? and is CA glue like crazy glue or contact adhesive.. can you used the carzy glue or contact cement??
supra528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 05:51 PM   #910
Company Representative
 
ammdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,578
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

the 2.0 is off or soon to be off the list as its three years is about to expire and protoform has to resubmit.
ammdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 05:59 PM   #911
Tech Adept
 
tennessee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 241
Default

Rick Wilson who is the new R.O.A.R. president said that as long as they don't make changes to the current body it will still be legal.
tennessee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 06:28 PM   #912
Tech Master
 
modellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,447
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by supra528
do you have to sand the edges down first?? and is CA glue like crazy glue or contact adhesive.. can you used the carzy glue or contact cement??
CA glue is Cyanoacrylate. The best version I have seen so far would be Zap-a-gap. For this task you want the thinnest type you can get your hands on.

I am not familiar with Crazy glue but I would say contact cement would be too thick. The edges should be sanded lightly first to take away any roughness and unnecessary splinters.

I gather you have cut the Carbon Fibre yourself. If not and you bought a part from the likes of PenguinRC then it will already be sealed at the factory.

Have you read the article on the Calandra Racing Website yet on this subject. They explain the process very well. If you have not cut Carbon before be really sure to cut it in a well ventilated room and use a mask. I also recommend that you have some way of running a coolant or water over the cut area while you are cutting. The heat from cutting Carbon gets really high and it will fracture or worse. It also helps take away a lot of the harmful Carbon Dust which is deadly.

www.teamcrc.com
modellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 06:32 PM   #913
Tech Regular
 
supra528's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: T-Dot/Vancouver-Whistler
Posts: 454
Default

so all i need to do to the cf parts is just sand the edges lightly and then put some of the ca clue on it.. do i use a dremel to sand it?? or do i use sandpaper??
supra528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 06:36 PM   #914
Company Representative
 
ammdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,578
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

that would apply if rules were arbitraily rewritten at someones request or whim....

the excomm is working on the bodys and the updating of the list....

the technical director enforces and monitors the body eligebility so it should improve...
ammdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 06:37 PM   #915
Tech Master
 
modellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,447
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by supra528
so all i need to do to the cf parts is just sand the edges lightly and then put some of the ca clue on it.. do i use a dremel to sand it?? or do i use sandpaper??
Just use a very fine wet & dry type sandpaper. You only want to make the surface smooth.
modellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 710 Ron C. Nitro On-Road 23347 03-16-2010 02:47 PM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:38 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net