R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-26-2003, 10:10 PM   #4006
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: lost...
Posts: 2,854
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by New_Toasted
Hi there!
I have an important question (atleast it's important for my wallet ).
I've got an Impulse PRO upgraded with Centax Clutch and rear belldiffrential. Now my question is, will i have to throw away my Impulse/705 just becuase the 710 will be much better? I'm not a very perfect driver either (YET! ). I don't have the money to buy a 710 but i want to know if i should keep my Impulse or not..
You could get the 705 conversion kit for about $140 from Serpent USA.

I'm still racing a 4 year old Impulse converted to Pro. Its still a good car. Now only if I could drive. Hoping to get a 710
__________________
Sometimes I post just to look at Kraig's avatar
RoyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 12:24 AM   #4007
Tech Regular
 
New_Toasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Milkyway/Planet Earth/Europe/Sweden/Skåne/Malmö
Posts: 349
Default

Thanks for the replies (and hello Fmolzer ) !
Puh, now my worries are down to zero, especially cause i race in Sweden where R/C's unfortunately is a very small sport. But i think it increasing now when the 1:10 NT has come to stay.
But what ever, my question now is, does the conversion kit include the rear balldiff and centax? In that case I won't need it..

And yes, I'm posting the same reply in 710 forum too.

And again, thanks
New_Toasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 02:10 AM   #4008
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by New_Toasted
But what ever, my question now is, does the conversion kit include the rear balldiff and centax? In that case I won't need it..
The conversion kit does not come with the Centax of the ball diff. Neither does it come with the rear sway bars.

Watch this space for a 705 conversion that I'll be doing on my Impulse PRO.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 10:45 AM   #4009
Tech Regular
 
New_Toasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Milkyway/Planet Earth/Europe/Sweden/Skåne/Malmö
Posts: 349
Default

Whats the diffrences between the Impulse Pro and 705 except rear ball diff, centax, and a fuel tank för lower LCG?
New_Toasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 12:26 PM   #4010
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by New_Toasted
Whats the diffrences between the Impulse Pro and 705 except rear ball diff, centax, and a fuel tank för lower LCG?
The upper deck (hence throttle servo, battery and receiver placement), left / right side carbon braces, rear sway bar ala Impact... That's all I can think of.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 01:06 PM   #4011
Tech Adept
 
Diesel Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 227
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
The upper deck (hence throttle servo, battery and receiver placement), left / right side carbon braces, rear sway bar ala Impact... That's all I can think of.
Not forgetting the centax II clutch and smaller flywheel, different receiver pack, lower engine mounts, different chassis and top deck brace.
Diesel Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 01:07 PM   #4012
Tech Regular
 
New_Toasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Milkyway/Planet Earth/Europe/Sweden/Skåne/Malmö
Posts: 349
Default

I already have the rear ala Impact swaybar, got it from my Impact .
Is the 705 radioplate much better than the Impulse pro one?
I gotta go so i don't have time to write more
New_Toasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 07:15 PM   #4013
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Diesel Racer
Not forgetting the centax II clutch and smaller flywheel, different receiver pack, lower engine mounts, different chassis and top deck brace.
Oh, how could I have slipped that one?
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 07:21 PM   #4014
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by New_Toasted
Is the 705 radioplate much better than the Impulse pro one?
Well, the idea of the new radioplate on the 705 is to give the car better CG with the lower receiver pack placement. Also, the throttle / brake servo's new position is an attempt to redistribute the polar moment of the car for better handling. Of course then this is better than the Impulse PRO radioplate.

On another note, I guess that due to the different design and cut out of the 705 radio plate, it somehow does seem stronger than the Impulse PRO radio plate which broke easier upon impact. Just a very unscientific observation of mine...

p/s: I notice you mention that you're going to get a JTech engine. Are you based in Florida?
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 11:41 PM   #4015
Tech Regular
 
New_Toasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Milkyway/Planet Earth/Europe/Sweden/Skåne/Malmö
Posts: 349
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Well, the idea of the new radioplate on the 705 is to give the car better CG with the lower receiver pack placement. Also, the throttle / brake servo's new position is an attempt to redistribute the polar moment of the car for better handling. Of course then this is better than the Impulse PRO radioplate.

On another note, I guess that due to the different design and cut out of the 705 radio plate, it somehow does seem stronger than the Impulse PRO radio plate which broke easier upon impact. Just a very unscientific observation of mine...

Thanks, but i think i get the Impulse PRO plate cause i got a good deal from a friend.. And (laugh me out now ) the plate i got now is the Streetspec one But not so much longer..

Quote:
p/s: I notice you mention that you're going to get a JTech engine. Are you based in Florida?
No not really.. I'm based in Sweden, BUT i got a friend who is selling this engine, and he lives in florida.. Fmolzer at this forum if you know him..
New_Toasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2003, 07:23 AM   #4016
Company Representative
 
ammdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,589
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

new toasted.. send fredrick a stock nova .12 and we will send you back something special as the j-techs are not...
ammdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 02:12 AM   #4017
Tech Regular
 
New_Toasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Milkyway/Planet Earth/Europe/Sweden/Skåne/Malmö
Posts: 349
Default

I don't need the super best engines, especially since i don't have money for a brand new racing engine... The one Fredrik's got can i get for 100 USD.. My wallet is not much thicker than so.. The only stock engine i got (or the only 12 enginge i got) is a Nova Mega SX-12 SE EV-2... Maybe not the fastest...
New_Toasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 06:58 AM   #4018
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 110
Default

Hejsan New_Toasted, nice to see some more swedes here!

Where do you race? Im racing at väst-8 then it is a little bit warmer...

Last edited by johan; 11-29-2003 at 08:32 AM.
johan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 07:15 AM   #4019
Company Representative
 
ammdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,589
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Yea I spoke with mr molzer last evening, that is a good deal on the j-tech.. and it will be easy to tune and run..
ammdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 10:23 AM   #4020
Tech Regular
 
New_Toasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Milkyway/Planet Earth/Europe/Sweden/Skåne/Malmö
Posts: 349
Default

Johan: Hejsan! I'm racing at Staffanstorps HS in Skåne, can't wait untill April when they will open again after the winter... BTW, What car are you running?

ammdrew: Yea, i also thought it would be a great deal for my Impulse, i won't need more power than that in the beginning, a better engine will come with a better driver

Last edited by New_Toasted; 11-29-2003 at 01:59 PM.
New_Toasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 710 Ron C. Nitro On-Road 23347 03-16-2010 02:47 PM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:27 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net