R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2003, 09:51 AM   #256
Tech Elite
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Did any of you 705 owners have problems with the shocks caps popping off? I have adj. shocks on my other serpent cars and never had problems and the only thing I've done differently is glue the bladders to the caps like the manual says. And yes I did screw them on correctly.
__________________
Team Misfits / www.igthobbies.com / Desoto Racing / Veytrex.com / JZRacing / RcShox / IGT8 '17
Pit-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2003, 07:08 PM   #257
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pit-racer
Did any of you 705 owners have problems with the shocks caps popping off? I have adj. shocks on my other serpent cars and never had problems and the only thing I've done differently is glue the bladders to the caps like the manual says. And yes I did screw them on correctly.
Strange that you mentioned it... I had mine popped off on an outing. Tried to fix it back but it seems that the threading on the top of the shock body stripped !! Changed it to a new one though. Will try to take a photo of it if I can find it in the bin when I get back.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2003, 07:13 PM   #258
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default Re: OK!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Dookiestick
Thanks for the info!! I think I am going to give the STS PRO 10 a try and use their upgrades along with a few from the 705 with hopes of having a pretty decent 1/10th scale car. I have a Brand new Dennis Ritchey modifed Collari 5 port thats been sitting for months on the shelf begging to be used. If you find out any other info pleas keep me posted.!!
I also know for a fact that the STS comes with 3 mm stock (there's optional 4 mm chassis) but I'm told there are no side braces like the ones that come with the Impulse.

Anyway you'll be doing a disservice to the Dennis Ritchey engine if you put it in a STS though Should be more fitting to put such a great engine in a 705
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2003, 08:51 PM   #259
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bay area
Posts: 64
Default Overpriced?

Well my thinking is if both cars are all most identical with just a few exceptions, I would rather pay $200.00+ less for the STS PRO 10 II and get the same or near the same performance. Plus I don't think you can ge too much better then that floating rear suspension! And it seems that the STS Pro 10 II offers an upgraded 4mm chassis. With that Aluminum radio top plate and 4mm chassis I think it will be pleanty stiff enough to handle the power and torque. I didn't seem to stop Josh Cryul from winning with it!! Besides... Whatever car I put the Dennis Ritchey modified Collari engine into is gonna FLY!!!!
Dookiestick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2003, 10:09 PM   #260
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Corrections. The STS Maddog 235 mm driven by Josh Cyrul is different than the STS PRO 10 II which is 200 mm. In 200 mm category, Josh Cyrul drove the Trinity Reflex NT.

Good luck on the purchase. Please report to us your findings on the STS
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 11:23 AM   #261
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: TEXAS. USA
Posts: 1,219
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Cool

Quote:
Originally posted by Pit-racer
Did any of you 705 owners have problems with the shocks caps popping off? I have adj. shocks on my other serpent cars and never had problems and the only thing I've done differently is glue the bladders to the caps like the manual says. And yes I did screw them on correctly.
Maybe you shouldn't follow the manual!!



PUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 08:06 PM   #262
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 358
Send a message via ICQ to nizee
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pit-racer
Did any of you 705 owners have problems with the shocks caps popping off? I have adj. shocks on my other serpent cars and never had problems and the only thing I've done differently is glue the bladders to the caps like the manual says. And yes I did screw them on correctly.
Pit,

Try not to glue the bladders this time round and use it this Saturday at RPM race. See what happen. My only reason like i told u for not gluing the bladders for easy rebuilding and maintenance. I know the Impulse Pro manual does not indicate to glue.
nizee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 09:51 PM   #263
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nizee
Pit,

Try not to glue the bladders this time round and use it this Saturday at RPM race. See what happen. My only reason like i told u for not gluing the bladders for easy rebuilding and maintenance. I know the Impulse Pro manual does not indicate to glue.
The Impulse PRO manual did indicate to use CA to glue the bladders. I know because I did follow it.

On my 705, I did not glue it and still the shock cap came out. I don't think the problem is related to glueing or not glueing the rubber bladders. The threads are simply weak probably.

Yes, by not glueing the bladder, chances are very high that you can use them back again after rebuilding and maintenance.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 08:15 AM   #264
Tech Elite
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

So did serpent go with a different mold or plastic? I'm gonna have to use my old shocks from the impulse or impact cars.
__________________
Team Misfits / www.igthobbies.com / Desoto Racing / Veytrex.com / JZRacing / RcShox / IGT8 '17
Pit-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 10:04 AM   #265
Tech Master
 
JJ187RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Keller, TX.
Posts: 1,607
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I have been using the GS bladders in my shocks on my 2WD and both my Pro and my 705 and have not had any problems with the shock top popping off. The only time this did happen was when I got nailed in the first corner after the start of the main.
JJ187RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 07:31 PM   #266
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JJ187RC
I have been using the GS bladders in my shocks on my 2WD and both my Pro and my 705 and have not had any problems with the shock top popping off. The only time this did happen was when I got nailed in the first corner after the start of the main.
As I mentioned earlier, I don't think the bladders has anything got to do with the shock top popping off. I think it's got to do with the material or the thread.

Anyway, I have heard that you can use GS bladders on the shokcs. Can anybody post a picture of it?
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 10:22 PM   #267
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 358
Send a message via ICQ to nizee
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
The Impulse PRO manual did indicate to use CA to glue the bladders. I know because I did follow it.

On my 705, I did not glue it and still the shock cap came out. I don't think the problem is related to glueing or not glueing the rubber bladders. The threads are simply weak probably.

Yes, by not glueing the bladder, chances are very high that you can use them back again after rebuilding and maintenance.
OK, my mistake i did not read the manual, you're a champ.

Pit,
You can always try all options (trial-n-error), that's behind R/C game.

See you on Saturday.
nizee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 08:44 AM   #268
Tech Elite
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I think the material has something to do with it cause I used older shock bodies from a previous kit and was able to tighten it more without it stripping.Also if the bladders aren't glue on line perfect it can also be a problem, so I choose not to glue them at all.
__________________
Team Misfits / www.igthobbies.com / Desoto Racing / Veytrex.com / JZRacing / RcShox / IGT8 '17
Pit-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 11:22 AM   #269
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

I just got my 705. Has any one had any problems with the rear diff loosening?
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 11:47 AM   #270
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,107
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
As I mentioned earlier, I don't think the bladders has anything got to do with the shock top popping off. I think it's got to do with the material or the thread.

Anyway, I have heard that you can use GS bladders on the shokcs. Can anybody post a picture of it?
Same here, according from the manuel, you are supposed to use CA to glue the bladders......and that is a MUST. I did that on my Streetspec back in 99 and PRO on 02.......I never had the shock cap popped out because of the bladder.....that has nothing to do with it.......like Initial-D said, it is the plastic, but still, my SS and PRO didn't have that problem at all.......the only time I had something similar to that was on my friends HPI NMT right after a 8'-0" jump......

If you got hit by other cars or you hit the board......that is the DRIVER....not the shock.

Go check out mytsn and do a search, I believe Pieter does have an article about shocks called "How to build a perfect shocks?"

RCinfinity....rear diff. lossening at WHERE...? The cap or the diff itself.........? It happened to me several times that my rear diff was......one wheel is spinning and the other does not move at all, but after popping the car several times, its back to normal......and I checked, no gears were stripped at all. Don't know why.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 710 Ron C. Nitro On-Road 23347 03-16-2010 02:47 PM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:17 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net