R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2002, 05:30 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: byesville Ohio
Posts: 16
Default servo problem

I have a question for the pros on here. I have been running my tg10r for acouple months now. I have a problem with my throttle servo going out. I have went though about 5 in the last month. I have checked everything i could think of, batt, reciever, end points, rubber under the servos with no luck . The servo just dies on me the gears aren't stipped or nothing the motor just goes out. I have tried acouple different brands of servos with differnt specs. I have no clue what to check. I have also used some servos from my other cars that have always been good for 1 plus years for them just to go bad in a day. Thanks for any help you can give me.
Chris
christop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2002, 07:31 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default


are you setting the servo's endpoints correctly? otherwise your servos will get fried, but that does not seem to be the problem, because they work well in your other cars.

This is a very difficult question. Have you seen your LHS about this one? Youshould if you haven't.

I guess you could switch your whole radio system from your other cars, rather than just your servos. If this helps, then I suggest that you send in all the stuff you took out of the tg10r.

Other than that, I can't think of anything else right now.
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2002, 07:38 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: byesville Ohio
Posts: 16
Default

I was at the track today when in happened acouple from the lhs was there. They looked at it the couldn't figure it out either. They also hooked me up with a new servo it lasted about 30 min. I don't have a clue. Thanks again. If i figure it out i let everyone know.
Chris
christop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2002, 10:39 PM   #4
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by christop
I was at the track today when in happened acouple from the lhs was there. They looked at it the couldn't figure it out either. They also hooked me up with a new servo it lasted about 30 min. I don't have a clue. Thanks again. If i figure it out i let everyone know.
Chris
Your servos may be subjected to very high amounts of vibration. Either that or there is something wrong with your receiver.

Have you tried changing your receiver? What Tx/Rx are you using? What brands of servos have you tried?
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2002, 10:52 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

Yeah, find some of those rubber servo pads that come with the servos.

i totally agree with initial D

Plug in your servos into a different TX and RX and see how it goes. if this fixes it then send your TX and Rx into the manufacturer.
If you can find someone with HiTecs diagnostic system, the servo programmer that noone else seems to know what it does, then they can point out the area that is your problem.

i burnt out three throttle servos in 2 months, and it turned out that vibration had jarred parts of the servos internals loose. i.e. a soldered on chip came off.
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2002, 03:59 PM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: byesville Ohio
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks for all the help. I have tried hitec, futaba and jr servos. I going to try a new radio system out. I have a 3pdf system in it now. Thanks for the help. I'll let everyone know how i come out.
christop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2002, 04:53 PM   #7
rjl
Tech Fanatic
 
rjl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: OZ
Posts: 848
Default

I find throttle servos don't last that long but if ever I have radio probs. it goes to the local radio technician for checking and repair.
My radio is about 7 years old and I rarely have issues.
rjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2002, 04:04 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default

Throttle servos must get a lot of vibrations through the linkage to the carbeurator( I finally spelled it right ) arm. It is true that they don't last as long as the steering servos, but they sould last a minimum of two years if they are brand new, not 30 minutes.
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2002, 08:57 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
myclod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 1,064
Send a message via AIM to myclod Send a message via Yahoo to myclod
Default

i have never run any more than a bottom of the line basic servo for throttle and have NEVER had a problem
myclod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2002, 02:13 PM   #10
rjl
Tech Fanatic
 
rjl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: OZ
Posts: 848
Default

I know, it seems that expensive servos last inversely proportional to the price?
rjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2002, 06:51 PM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: byesville Ohio
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks for the help. I'm going to get a new radio system for my tg10r tomorrow. The recievers i have tried in my car all have been futaba. But i have tried fubaba, jr and hitec servos. I only thing i can think is that this car just don't get along with futaba radio gear. I know that sounds stupid but my 3pdf system works fine in all my other car. I'll let everyone know on how i make out. Thanks again.
Chris
christop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2002, 08:44 PM   #12
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by christop
Thanks for the help. I'm going to get a new radio system for my tg10r tomorrow. The recievers i have tried in my car all have been futaba. But i have tried fubaba, jr and hitec servos. I only thing i can think is that this car just don't get along with futaba radio gear. I know that sounds stupid but my 3pdf system works fine in all my other car. I'll let everyone know on how i make out. Thanks again.
Chris
Are you using the same Futaba Rx (receiver) in all your cars? One or several receiver units?

If you have several units each Futaba receiver unit specifically for each car, then it could be that your receiver unit on the TG10R is faulty.

If you only have ONE Futaba receiver unit that you would evertime take out and share it with the other cars that you would want to drive, then I don't know why it would not work on the TG10R where on other cars it works.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SERVO PROBLEM lancerevo22194 Micro and Mini Scales 11 07-23-2008 04:17 PM
ESC or SERVO Problem kimbalion7 Electric On-Road 4 02-02-2006 04:27 AM
servo problem. Please help! cars.cars.cars Nitro On-Road 4 08-22-2005 01:02 AM
servo problem wothrottle Electric On-Road 0 09-29-2004 06:24 AM
servo problem wahturi Nitro On-Road 7 12-25-2002 10:48 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:38 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net