R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 10-25-2002, 10:59 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Unhappy Im New At RC cars, need help on the ENGINE

Hey People, this is my first time making a thread here and my first day beig part of this forum site.
Well my problem is my Engine. i have a fantom fr.15 engine on it with a 2 speed. When i push foward on my trigger to brake my engine will stop running.. and ive been wondering why this is happening. i try to mess with the throttle linkage set up but i dont know... and i do not know how to work with the needle valve on the engine... can you guys give me some pointers and some advice please?? Thankyou...
ieatpandesal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2002, 11:42 PM   #2
dtm
Tech Champion

Send a message via ICQ to dtm

Check that your linkage is not "closing" the carb when you push for brake (best done by removing the air filter and looking down the carb opening from the top when you do this), there should be a stop screw on the carb to prevent this happening...adjust it.

Also check that your clutch is not engaged when the engine is at idle (lift the car off the ground and the wheels should not rotate......or only "beaing" rotate).....
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2002, 09:37 PM   #3
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to NEMMITH

Oh one more very important note, make sure you do the above mentioned ONLY when the motor is not running. You NEVER want to run your motor with the air filter removed. I hope you read this before you try anything.
NEMMITH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2002, 04:20 PM   #4
Tech Rookie

"there should be a stop screw on the carb to prevent this happening...adjust it."
umm, is the screw the one that connects to the reciever?
ieatpandesal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2002, 01:11 AM   #5
Tech Initiate

Send a message via AIM to SubaruSTi Send a message via Yahoo to SubaruSTi

yea i'm having the same problem