R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2005, 05:50 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
fritzD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fritzD
Default help with breaking in sirio 12Tup 5 port eingine

Hey guys! I need help. I don't know how to break in this new engine. For the past years I had other people break in my engines and this time I want to break it in myself. Help will be greatly appreaciated or maybe somebody can give me a link to page that has what i need. Thanks!
fritzD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 06:39 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Kyosho3PKRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Campbelltown,Australia
Posts: 167
Send a message via AIM to Kyosho3PKRacer Send a message via MSN to Kyosho3PKRacer
Default

Try running a few tanks on idle and then a few at low throttle or josh cyrul has a breaking in method i have seen somewhere although it looks pretty harsh for the motor.

I run a sirio 3 p and it seems to run best with 16-20 % nitro and less oil content than what you would usually use, i found it ran alot better with less but don't go to far or you will end up breaking it lol but i use 5 and 2 i think most are like 8 or 10 and 4.
Kyosho3PKRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 07:03 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,699
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Slotmachine
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyosho3PKRacer
Try running a few tanks on idle and then a few at low throttle or josh cyrul has a breaking in method i have seen somewhere although it looks pretty harsh for the motor.

I run a sirio 3 p and it seems to run best with 16-20 % nitro and less oil content than what you would usually use, i found it ran alot better with less but don't go to far or you will end up breaking it lol but i use 5 and 2 i think most are like 8 or 10 and 4.
Idleing a motor for 3 tanks without geting it up to temp. is doing more harm then good! I like to heat cycle my engines. Get the temp up quickly to 190 then cool down then up to 200 and cool down again. do this untill you get it up to 240 and then tune it on the track.I get it to temp. by adjusting the low end needle leaner each time. After break-in I reset the low-speed needle to propper seting.
__________________
HOBBYWING NORTH AMERICA /FALCON SEKIDO/ TEKNO RC TEAM/VBC Racing America/VP-PRO RACING TIRES/2010 R.O.A.R. VTA National Champion Driving a T2R PRO/NANO-TECH Batteries Paul Rush
Slotmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 09:13 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Kyosho3PKRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Campbelltown,Australia
Posts: 167
Send a message via AIM to Kyosho3PKRacer Send a message via MSN to Kyosho3PKRacer
Default

It can't do that much harm i have had my engine running perfectly for nearly a year even in a 1 hour final didn't skip a beat but maybe it's the aussie humidity
Kyosho3PKRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 06:54 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
csdspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: CEBU city
Posts: 231
Send a message via Yahoo to csdspeed
Default

csdspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 06:57 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
fritzD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fritzD
Default

Can you guys give me a step by step approach on how I can break in my engine for long life? I'm getting confused. Thanks!
fritzD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 08:33 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
fritzD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fritzD
Default

there's a break in tip in sirio's webpage. http://www.micromotori.com/
it's on the extras part.

Is that fine? I think I'll just follow it. What do you guys think?
fritzD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 01:43 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Kyosho3PKRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Campbelltown,Australia
Posts: 167
Send a message via AIM to Kyosho3PKRacer Send a message via MSN to Kyosho3PKRacer
Default

I have never tried it but it's from sirio and they should be the ones that know the most and know what their motor can and can't do so it should be ok.

Everyone has different opinions on how to break in motors and all of them probably work so its really up to you to decide what method you want to use or even do your own.

Regards,
Matt
Kyosho3PKRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sirio EVO STI 3 port rcfoolz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 11-30-2006 02:34 AM
sirio 9 port .23 slowpokeRRR Electric Off-Road 0 11-21-2006 09:55 PM
Sirio .27 RE 9 port HOW SHOULD IT GO? blown sv Australian Racing 0 08-12-2006 04:36 AM
sirio evo 3 5 port DaNNy250RRR Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 5 07-09-2006 09:13 PM
.12 Sirio AAC 5 port thefuzzclub Nitro On-Road 11 09-24-2003 09:28 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:49 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net