R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-11-2005, 12:38 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
luketob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Beautiful Socal
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default need help with 3pk radio

I've had my 3pk radio for over a year now and has been using dsm system for 6 months now without any problem until yesterday. My throttle servo is shaking (rattles in a way). First i thought it was the servo so i replaced with another one and still doing the same thing...next thing i did was take the dsm off and put the original module+receiver back on but it didn't help at all. Then i suspected it was the receiver pack so i bought another skyline receiver and tried it but nothing changed..the rattling is still there, so i gave my last shot..i changed my transmitter's batt and reset everything in my radio and guess what...it's still shaking/rattling and it's only the throttle, the steering is ok. I'm running out of option and i need help...has someone ever experience the same problem? I know it's not dsm problem..or batt problem..nor servo problem..could it be my radion tho? Any input will help..thanks in advance guys...
luketob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 12:51 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Arno's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: RCville, Ca
Posts: 601
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by front1wayFreak
I've had my 3pk radio for over a year now and has been using dsm system for 6 months now without any problem until yesterday. My throttle servo is shaking (rattles in a way). First i thought it was the servo so i replaced with another one and still doing the same thing...next thing i did was take the dsm off and put the original module+receiver back on but it didn't help at all. Then i suspected it was the receiver pack so i bought another skyline receiver and tried it but nothing changed..the rattling is still there, so i gave my last shot..i changed my transmitter's batt and reset everything in my radio and guess what...it's still shaking/rattling and it's only the throttle, the steering is ok. I'm running out of option and i need help...has someone ever experience the same problem? I know it's not dsm problem..or batt problem..nor servo problem..could it be my radion tho? Any input will help..thanks in advance guys...
If one of your friends has a 3pk take his radio and put your dsm module in his radio and try his radio with your car. I had similar problems with my 3pk, so I swap my radio with my friends and it fixed my problem that's how I knew it was my radio and nothing else. I had this problem with three different 3pk's until I changed to Ko Propo Helios and have had no problems. Hope this helps. Good Luck!!!
__________________
~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~
Arno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 02:24 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
luketob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Beautiful Socal
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

thanks superserpent..that's the only thing i haven't tried seems like everything leads to radio problem...maybe it's time for new radio
luketob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 05:26 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 364
Default

HI!

I had once that problem, I solved veryfing the radio mode, I don't remember which one is correct, but the problem was that it changed to PPM or PCM,
I don't remember right now. Once I changed back , problem solved.
Edgar Millenium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 10:14 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Arno's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: RCville, Ca
Posts: 601
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by front1wayFreak
thanks superserpent..that's the only thing i haven't tried seems like everything leads to radio problem...maybe it's time for new radio
First try one of your buddies 3pk's before you buy a new radio.
__________________
~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~`~
Arno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 05:42 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Ducati-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 458
Default swap crystals in your old module

go back to the original set up and swap crystals
i had an itchy servo and it turned out to be the
transmitter module
Ducati-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 01:14 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
luketob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Beautiful Socal
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar Millenium
HI!

I had once that problem, I solved veryfing the radio mode, I don't remember which one is correct, but the problem was that it changed to PPM or PCM,
I don't remember right now. Once I changed back , problem solved

Yes i switch back to PCM while using original module and receiver because PPM is used only when i had my DSM on. Which receiver did u use?
luketob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 01:22 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
luketob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Beautiful Socal
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducati-Rider
go back to the original set up and swap crystals
i had an itchy servo and it turned out to be the
transmitter module
I did that already, i reset the radio and swap crystal, i even try different receiver and tx batteries...the only thing i haven't done is to borrow my friend's 3pk so i can test everything out. Hopefully i'll be able to find out soon so i can race this weekend
luketob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 07:24 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by front1wayFreak
Yes i switch back to PCM while using original module and receiver because PPM is used only when i had my DSM on. Which receiver did u use?

At that Time I was using Novak XXtra. Now I have DSM.
Edgar Millenium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 DTX ICE - Car stands, 8000 7.4 lipos, B4 Spares, Tires, 3PK radio M8 radio spektrum racer34v R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 07-16-2008 06:10 AM
gt2 truck,spectrum radio,ae radio,glow starters.......trade for non rc realted xsxracing Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 1 08-07-2007 05:43 PM
gt2 truck,nitro extras,spetrum radio,ae radio,charger,battery more....cheap xsxracing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-07-2007 08:40 AM
Good radio:fm, any brand, no offer refused! needed radio(3 channel t to the maxx2 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 16 02-05-2005 11:20 AM
Futaba 3PJS FM/PCM radio w/7 sets of crystals and MATT FRANCIS radio bag Ron Meloni R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-08-2003 04:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:29 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net