R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2005, 06:01 AM   #46
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 364
Default Antenna

HI Guys:

Does any body knows, what kind of cable I can use to replace the antenna on my receiver, the cable snap at about 3 inches and I loose signal at about 40 feet.

Does any body knows if it is aluminum or cooper??

Thanks
Edgar
Edgar Millenium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 08:11 AM   #47
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar Millenium
HI Guys:

Does any body knows, what kind of cable I can use to replace the antenna on my receiver, the cable snap at about 3 inches and I loose signal at about 40 feet.

Does any body knows if it is aluminum or cooper??

Thanks
Edgar
It's silver colored wire inside, but that shouldn't matter.

But whatever you do, DO NOT unsolder the antenna wire from the circuit board.
When you look at it, it looks as if the wire was going through the board and is just simply soldered to the underside of the board, but that's not true.

It's too complicated to explain, but the antenna actually connects to the upper side of the board and it's nearly impossiple with a normal iron to get that done right.

Been there, done that, got no shirt

So, just attach the missing length to what's left of your antenna.

IMHO, the antenna wire is crap. It's getting brittle quickly and then breaks. Mine broke directly at the circit board.
stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 11:41 AM   #48
Moderator
 
Uneke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 437
Send a message via AIM to Uneke Send a message via Yahoo to Uneke
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefan
It's silver colored wire inside, but that shouldn't matter.

But whatever you do, DO NOT unsolder the antenna wire from the circuit board.
When you look at it, it looks as if the wire was going through the board and is just simply soldered to the underside of the board, but that's not true.

It's too complicated to explain, but the antenna actually connects to the upper side of the board and it's nearly impossiple with a normal iron to get that done right.

Been there, done that, got no shirt

So, just attach the missing length to what's left of your antenna.

IMHO, the antenna wire is crap. It's getting brittle quickly and then breaks. Mine broke directly at the circit board.
I successfully replaced the antenna on my rx last summer when it got pulled out. I have a pretty large tipped iron and i did it during my 3 min warm up beforemy heat race. I don't remember it being that much of a problem and I haven't had a problem with it ever since.
Uneke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 01:07 PM   #49
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uneke
I successfully replaced the antenna on my rx last summer when it got pulled out. I have a pretty large tipped iron and i did it during my 3 min warm up beforemy heat race. I don't remember it being that much of a problem and I haven't had a problem with it ever since.
Gimme your address, you'll get my next RX if I have an antenna problem..

I guess i'm just clumsy then
stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 02:24 PM   #50
Tech Fanatic
 
Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NCC-1701E, the Enterprise
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar Millenium
what kind of cable I can use to replace the antenna on my receiver
any 30AWG hookup wire will do, make sure it is multi-strand bare copper (or tinned copper) conductor and PVC insulated.
Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 03:12 PM   #51
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Just for informations sake , does the wire have to be a certain length like RF RX's or can you just get any old wire length and put it on. I know with RF RX's if it breaks you basically have to send into the company to have them professionally repair it otherwise you could have glitching as the length of the RX has something to do with the tuning frequency.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 09:27 AM   #52
Tech Fanatic
 
Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NCC-1701E, the Enterprise
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artificial-I
does the wire have to be a certain length like RF RX's
antenna length is a function of the frequency. for a 27MHz system, a good antenna length would be around 208 inches, but obviously it is not practical for RC, so I guess they use a fraction (properly 1/8) of it. it will loose some range i guess, but for RC, the reduced range is good enough anyways.

my RXs antenna is 4 inches shorter than when i got it, but so far i had no problem with it. either i am very lucky or a couple of inches does not really matter.
Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JR R-1 with Spektrum Module 215 shipped.... xxtra, Synth, etc mods & RX's 40&75mhz OWTKAST cpt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 02-14-2008 10:45 PM
FS Spektrum HRS system bill941 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 02-01-2008 03:12 PM
KO helios with new spektrum pro system +extra spektrum module vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 10-02-2007 09:33 AM
Mods and regional Mods names turn to Green? Mr. Shookie R/C Tech Site Forum 2 07-08-2007 09:50 AM
Looking for used Spektrum DX2 or DX3 system kuatto R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 02-19-2007 05:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net