R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 09-28-2005, 10:16 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Send a message via AIM to Emin3m Send a message via MSN to Emin3m
Default Question

I am going to buy a nitro on-road, and am not quite sure whether to buy a thunder tiger rtr for 600 australian dollars, it comes with asolutely everything u could possibly need, or whether to buy a kit and build it, im just starting out with nitro, i could easily build a electric, but im not to familiar with nitro and want to get into it, so wats a good, cheap, nitro on-road kit that would be easy to put together
Emin3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 02:28 AM   #2
Tech Initiate

do not bother with a cheap kit. buy a kit that will last a few years if you keep doing nitro or has a good resale value if you drop the nitro.

as for advising what kit, the best thing you could do is go to your local tracks find out what car most drivers are using; talk to them about spares availabilty. if you can build 1 kit you can build them all, just take your time to understand the manual before startiing that will make the build much easier.

mark
MisterLister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 03:25 AM   #3
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Emin3m
Thunder Tigers are an OK car but for starting out have a look at the CD3 RTR
as MisterLister says get down to you local track and have a look around at what is being run and talk to the racers
I see that you from NSW what town?
Tyrrell P34,(Retired)
oldnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 04:05 AM   #4
Tech Addict

Send a message via AIM to icon

Most cars that come in kit form are for intermediate to advanced users. If you are planning on racing at a local club you may be better off buying a "Pro" car than a beginner car since it will allow you more room for growth.