R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-22-2005, 07:27 PM   #16
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Ok, so what about the point of measurement then?? If its always under the tire....then what about toe? I would trust you, but it seems you might not be too sure on the subject yourself.

Anyone else got any input on this? Im thinking im just going to make a set of blocks to run my car through. That should make it easy enough.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 07:30 PM   #17
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdelong
I couldn't agree more about the camber. I have given up on setting camber with the set-up station. I frequently am off by 1-2 degrees of camber when comparing the station settings vs. the plastic RPM camber gauge.

If I set the car to 3 degrees camber with the RPM gauge, the station reads like 4- 4.5 degrees.

I only use the set-up station for toe, and the RPM gauge for camber.
I also have the rpm camber gauge. With the integy setup I checked all my measurements with the rpm gauge afterwards....it matched exactly what the setup station said. Made me glad so I know both work pretty good...at least the camber gauge does with setup wheels. Otherwise on regular rims I dont think its good.

I think the integy is better than the rpm camber gauge. Its also faster.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 09:11 PM   #18
Tech Regular
 
miniracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 268
Default

one thing I've noticed is that the setup station readings will vary depending on your setup if there is slop in the links or bearings. with some setups the setup blocks will pull the upper links out thus giving less camber readings, then with rubber tires this pushes the upper link in giving a higher camber reading. the slop can come from the links or wheel bearings. with foams and high camber settings specially the rear this tends to push the upper links out giving less camber. the setup wheels tends to give the same readings as the setup blocks. this can also happen in reverse so you have to recheck always.
miniracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 10:05 PM   #19
Tech Master
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Great so I threw $280 down the tubes.
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 02:21 AM   #20
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

I have Hudy All in One Setup Tools. I don't use the board to measure track width because it's trouble some and even more complicated if using the tweak station. I use regular ruler, easy
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 02:31 AM   #21
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
Default

I have shared some similar frustrations. My setups work best when I go through the entire car. Start with the chassis making sure it is flat. Then roll the pivot pins and balls on some plate glass to make sure they are straight. Once reassembled, check for binding in the suspension without shocks/swaybars. Use a combination of a caliper, setup board and a set of OEM tires/wheels for track width. Bought a cheap plastic dial caliper from home Depot for $10. The scale on it is probably off but I mainly use it without looking at the scale making sure both sides of the car are the same. I wouldn't even attempt to assemble a car without one and this is probably where you are having issues. Go get one, measure everything twice and be patient. It has taken me many setup attempts to learn how to get one that works well. There are some things I noticed about the old Hudy. It hangs up on the board decal side. Flip the board over to use it or find something that the bottom of the fixtures slide easily on. Work the suspension by tapping hard on the chassis before and after making a change. Keep doing this until both sides settle at the same point repeatedly.
grey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 03:41 AM   #22
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576
I have Hudy All in One Setup Tools. I don't use the board to measure track width because it's trouble some and even more complicated if using the tweak station. I use regular ruler, easy
Same here....

But, going from circuit to circuit I always take the set-up from last year, and make adjustment without measuring a thing. (I only listen to the car)
After the car works as I want it, then afterwards I measure the set-up I made.......
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 01:15 PM   #23
Tech Addict
 
fraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to fraz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastharry
hey fraz....did you have the old style HUDY or the new ball bearing one..
I own the older plexiglass ones and have used the new aluminum/bearing ones too. I think the new ones are much better but they are not perfect. I usually set up my car with the Hudy to get it close and then use the good ol' plastic gauge to fine tune the camber. Seems to work very well so I have stuck with it for quite a while.
fraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 05:57 AM   #24
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Wow that hudy stuff is exspensive. I got mine integy for $107. Case , board with level , setup wheels and plexi toe gauge.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 09:26 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Anyone else have similar issues with their set-up tools?
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 09:30 PM   #26
Tech Adept
 
Joe Os's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Valley Crew
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artificial-I
Wow that hudy stuff is exspensive. I got mine integy for $107. Case , board with level , setup wheels and plexi toe gauge.
Yeah hudy is too expensive but 100% accurate than integy right?
Joe Os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 09:43 PM   #27
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Well a big complaint on the hudy is its hard to read. Id say both are equally accurate...but ive never used the hudy. Some things hudy do blow away others...but integy did a good job in this area. Some of there other stuff Ive gotten lately has been questionable though.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 07:17 AM   #28
jag
Tech Master
 
jag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So. Florida
Posts: 1,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by performula
Anyone else have similar issues with their set-up tools?
I don't have any problems with my Hudy setup system... as long as I do it right. As you make adjustments you will have to go back and check settings you have already done. I don't just set my camber, toe, ride height, tweak, etc... one time and forget it. I go ver the car a few times, I roll the car back and forth, press down/pickup the car several times to settle the suspension. You cannot just slap the prisms on the axles, make a couple of adjustments and your done. Take your time and know when you twist that shock collar that you are affecting more than just the tweak.

Just my opinion.
jag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 07:56 AM   #29
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Glad im not the only one. I also like to recheck my camber once the wheels are back on with the rpm camber gauge. If it reads the same , everything is good. If its off usually its something like the tire itself off.

Thats why its good to not use camber gauges on used wheels. As they can be bent without you knowing.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 04:03 PM   #30
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

I am not sure about the latest 710/960 manuel setup booket, but on the typical Serpent setup booklet like 950R, 835, 705 even Impact and Impulse....they all use the good old plastic(or alum) clear "RULER" to measure the track width........read 200mm, if you are within 200mm then you are good to be LEGAL.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tweak Board, Set Up Board, Power Supply, Charger, Temp Gun nikos2002 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 08-06-2006 10:45 PM
T-15 Flywheel frustration DriveToLive Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 1 12-01-2005 10:25 AM
My biggest frustration with Forums imjonah R/C Tech Site Forum 9 01-23-2005 09:41 PM
frustration nitrosaurus Rookie Zone 5 03-20-2003 01:47 PM
Trinity Setup board + MIP Tweak Board ChristopherKee R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-28-2002 08:43 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:03 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net