R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2014, 11:43 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
uh60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 94
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Set up handling question

Ok go easy on me guys. Very new to on road.

I purchased a used yokomo GT4. I have been messing around with it and mostly practicing on driving it with more precision. It has a solid front dif and an open rear dif. No anti roll bars front or rear.

I Have ordered a setup station but not received it yet. But with calipers and a camber gauge have set one degree camber and toe in on the rear. Two degrees camber and toe out on the front.

My question is should a car handle the same in right and left turns. Power on I experience a push in left handed turns and a oversteer power on in right hand turns.

Is there some physical property that I am missing like airplane will roll faster in one direction verses the other with the torque of the propeller?

If you could provide links to sources I could read up on this.
I have also ordered the XXXmain book.

Thanks.
uh60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 10:34 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
azeroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Da Burbs
Posts: 1,070
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

sounds like you are tweaked or way off balance left to right
droop spring load shock rebound ect. will cause weird handling also a bad breaing would and can effect depending on were it is
__________________
Nitro is for Racing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
YA SMELL WATTs I BE STEPPIN IN????

Yes I race a Snake, VP, Radiopost,Protek,EDS,Matrix
Team Nitro RC Club Lynwood, IL
azeroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 08:26 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
uh60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 94
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Thanks. That does give me a direction to look at. Glad that it is possible to set up the car to handle identically turning both ways.

Another question is the perfect set up possible or is it always a compromise or something your always searching for.
uh60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:24 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net