R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-20-2005, 06:33 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
fordman500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 277
Default Tire Truer Power

How many amps does a power supply need to have to run a truer?Its an RD Logics truer.
fordman500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 06:52 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,209
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordman500
How many amps does a power supply need to have to run a truer?Its an RD Logics truer.
i use my integy truer with a radio shack 15 amp power supply with no problems
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 07:29 PM   #3
Jye
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 293
Default

What does a tire truer do?
Jye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 07:37 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default

it allows you to cut down the size of the tyre to a desired diameter
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 08:28 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
fordman500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 277
Default

Does anyone know if a 14amp will work?
fordman500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 08:49 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

Didn't it come with instructions and recommend a power supply?

I'd say try it, the worst that can happen is you will blow a fuse (if the supply has a fuse that is...)
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 09:31 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

For the Hudy truer, minimum of 25 amp is required and 35 amp ideal. A 14 amp won't even get it started.
jeffreylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 09:34 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
fordman500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 277
Default

No it didnt come with any instructions.

Wow thats a big power supply!! What about the Radio Shack PS's.They have a 25 amp for 100.00,has anyone had any experiences with it?
fordman500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 02:19 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

Try contacting rdlogics about it, Motorman might be able to help try pm him.
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 03:14 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
fordman500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 277
Default

Duh!!Why didnt I think of that.Thanks for the input.
fordman500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 05:03 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
fraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to fraz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreylin
For the Hudy truer, minimum of 25 amp is required and 35 amp ideal. A 14 amp won't even get it started.
Not quite accurate. I have used my Eagle 18A/14V and Rivergate 15A power supplies to run Hudy lathes for years. The general rule is that a lower amperage power supply will not give you as much torque so you cannot cut off a ton of material in one pass. I have traveled a bunch and used these PS for everything from truing tires to charging batteries to running stereos and they have worked like a champ.

If you can get your hands on one, go for the Rivergate 30A. That thing seriously motors through the toughest compounds!!
fraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 05:32 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
fordman500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 277
Default

I just got an email from Rd Logics.It only needs 12v.
fordman500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 06:18 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
fraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to fraz
Default

Volts are not the issue, it is the Amps that give you the punch. Just like racing an electric car. Oh wait, this is the nitro forum
fraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 06:26 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

Yup.. you need to ask how many AMP power supply you need to use it.
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 11:56 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fraz
Not quite accurate. I have used my Eagle 18A/14V and Rivergate 15A power supplies to run Hudy lathes for years. The general rule is that a lower amperage power supply will not give you as much torque so you cannot cut off a ton of material in one pass. I have traveled a bunch and used these PS for everything from truing tires to charging batteries to running stereos and they have worked like a champ.

If you can get your hands on one, go for the Rivergate 30A. That thing seriously motors through the toughest compounds!!
I tried using a 15A and my truer won't even spin. I have the fully automatic one.
jeffreylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this power supply power this tire truer? NitroMaxx3.3 Nitro On-Road 12 06-27-2007 10:50 AM
WTB:Tire Truer/Power Supply NitroMaxx3.3 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 06-27-2007 09:39 AM
Hudy Power Tire Truer ldp787 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-14-2006 03:16 PM
Tire Truer Power Supply Afterburner Electric On-Road 0 06-09-2004 03:04 PM
HUDY Power Tire Truer EuroKRN R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 03-23-2004 01:19 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:37 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net