R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2002, 05:34 AM   #1141
acs
Tech Adept
 
acs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 06 Worlds Track ^
Posts: 204
Default

is it viable for the steering servo also? or not a good idea.
acs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 05:36 AM   #1142
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by modellor
Zip tying the throttle servo is an old 1:8th scale trick. The ties hold the servo in place without any movement and it allows quicker removal by simply cutting them off.
In fact, this is for anti-vibration. It is not necessary for steering servo as it is far away from the engine.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 05:37 AM   #1143
Tech Master
 
modellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,447
Default

Its not really viable for the steering servo. The servo would be able to tip sideways under the extra loads from the wheels pushing back in the corners.
modellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 05:38 AM   #1144
Tech Elite
 
Michael_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,083
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Michael_T
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by acs
What are those yellow brake pads? And have you zip-tied your throttle servo in place? why?

Oh, and it looks just like my car.
Looks like Manitcore has already got the Optional Teflon Pads

Mannie, the last 3 years I've known you, this is the most standard car you have had (no hop-ups).
Michael_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 05:41 AM   #1145
Tech Elite
 
Michael_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,083
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Michael_T
Default

Quick question Moon and others:

Does the car come with the digital transponder mount?

Moon - do you have a digital transponder, I couldn't see it in the pics? Where is it mounted?
Michael_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 05:43 AM   #1146
acs
Tech Adept
 
acs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 06 Worlds Track ^
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Novarossi
Quick question Moon and others:

Does the car come with the digital transponder mount?

Moon - do you have a digital transponder, I couldn't see it in the pics? Where is it mounted?
It comes with the switch mount and the transponder mount. You can't mount both at the same time. (as far as i know)

Last edited by acs; 12-12-2002 at 05:45 AM.
acs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 05:49 AM   #1147
acs
Tech Adept
 
acs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 06 Worlds Track ^
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Novarossi
Looks like Manitcore has already got the Optional Teflon Pads

Mannie, the last 3 years I've known you, this is the most standard car you have had (no hop-ups).
I see ti screw set, ti turnbuckles, the optional brake pads.

Thats pretty good considering it had not been run at the time of the photo's.
acs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 05:53 AM   #1148
Tech Elite
 
Michael_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,083
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Michael_T
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by acs
I see ti screw set, ti turnbuckles, the optional brake pads.

Thats pretty good considering it had not been run at the time of the photo's.
I thought it was too good to be true
Michael_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 06:00 AM   #1149
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default

I saw a pic of someone's car that had both the switch and transponder mount in place. The switch was actually upside down, but it worked. Luckily, just about all of our immediate tracks run AMBrC transponders, so I can use my switch.

I have to agree with NR, I think that's the "stockest" car I've seen Mannie own.

Mine is built, but because of the snow I can't even get it broken in. I hate to think I've got to wait until spring to run this thing!!! The only hop-ups I plan to put on are front universals, aluminum chassis brace, and aluminum hex hubs. I'll probably put the teflon pads on as well. I want to see how the stock pads do, but I've put teflon on my MTX-2 and MRX-3. So I figure my MTX-3 will need it also.

Has anyone measured the wheel hexes? Aren't they the same size as the MTX-2 hexes? They look the same to me. It doesn't make sense to me that Mugen would release a set of hexes specifically for the MTX-3 if the MTX-2 hexes would fit.
tekrsq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 06:02 AM   #1150
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Novarossi
Looks like Manitcore has already got the Optional Teflon Pads

Mannie, the last 3 years I've known you, this is the most standard car you have had (no hop-ups).
the optional teflon pad is the same one used for MTX2.

The car you can see from the pic has alloy hex, TI screws and Ti mid shaft

I had alloy mid bearing block and rear alloy upper deck support installed last night !
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 06:02 AM   #1151
acs
Tech Adept
 
acs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 06 Worlds Track ^
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Novarossi
I thought it was too good to be true
Not to mention the aftermarket wheel nuts.
acs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 06:03 AM   #1152
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Novarossi
Quick question Moon and others:

Does the car come with the digital transponder mount?

Moon - do you have a digital transponder, I couldn't see it in the pics? Where is it mounted?
I dont race any more so I dont need the mount but the kit does come with the mount for both traditional transponder and digital transponder
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 06:05 AM   #1153
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tekrsq
I saw a pic of someone's car that had both the switch and transponder mount in place. The switch was actually upside down, but it worked. Luckily, just about all of our immediate tracks run AMBrC transponders, so I can use my switch.

I have to agree with NR, I think that's the "stockest" car I've seen Mannie own.

Mine is built, but because of the snow I can't even get it broken in. I hate to think I've got to wait until spring to run this thing!!! The only hop-ups I plan to put on are front universals, aluminum chassis brace, and aluminum hex hubs. I'll probably put the teflon pads on as well. I want to see how the stock pads do, but I've put teflon on my MTX-2 and MRX-3. So I figure my MTX-3 will need it also.

Has anyone measured the wheel hexes? Aren't they the same size as the MTX-2 hexes? They look the same to me. It doesn't make sense to me that Mugen would release a set of hexes specifically for the MTX-3 if the MTX-2 hexes would fit.
yep, you remind me, i have the front CVD too.

The MTX2 hex wont fit on MTX3.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 06:09 AM   #1154
acs
Tech Adept
 
acs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 06 Worlds Track ^
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tekrsq
I saw a pic of someone's car that had both the switch and transponder mount in place. The switch was actually upside down, but it worked. Luckily, just about all of our immediate tracks run AMBrC transponders, so I can use my switch.
Just looking at my car, it seems you are right, by flipping the switch over and placing it above the transponder mount you can use both.

Clever thinking Mugen

Have to buy a switch now.
acs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 06:10 AM   #1155
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Manticore
yep, you remind me, i have the front CVD too.

The MTX2 hex wont fit on MTX3.
Really? What's different, the axle size? I'll have to do some measuring when I get home this afternoon.

I thought about the ti shafts, but 2 people have already told me their ti shafts were "twisting", they went back to the stock shafts. I know of one company that's working on hollow steel shafts; hopefully they'll be a little better. If they are, I'll probably get them.
tekrsq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MUGEN MBX5R/MUGEN MBX5T PROSPEC/TRAXXAS RACE REVO Jason Halvorson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 01-12-2008 10:32 AM
Mugen 5T Chassis, Mugen 46 Tooth Pinion, Associated Ride Height Gauge bretzkej R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-19-2007 06:31 PM
USA's Most Wanted FOR SALE Mugen MBX5R,Losi 8 comp, and Mugen MBX5T Prospec Truggy nobike R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 69 04-28-2007 07:45 PM
Another MTX3 prospec w lots of parts and an optional Mugen X12 w Mugen pipe Scott Fisher R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 11-21-2005 05:45 PM
drake xxx nt and mugen mst-1+extras......Looking for a kanai 2 or maybe mugen buggy [email protected] R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-30-2003 09:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:02 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net