R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-16-2003, 10:10 PM   #8821
Tech Master
 
tIANcI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,737
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fisher890
Well After Months of research,puchasing and Building I finally got to run my MTX3. Made a bad choice of Location and Ran it in a Nice Parking lot. Car Handled AWESOME! I Need 2 new belts Now and Rear Tires are Gone. couple other cars Runnin er... walking there too 1 ntc3 1rs3 1yoko4.....The ntc3 Looked pretty I helped the Kid with the rs3 tune and got it running better then the yoko but HOLY *&%& )(&&^ nothing even came close to this car.I'm Almost ready for the track now.I'd like to Thank everyone that has answered my many questions and helped me to get this car together and be able to tune it as well as being able to help others now.The people at this site really do help the Hobby as a whole as well as individuals.
Don't bother to run any belt car anywhere other than a proper track, unless your family own BANDO. Belts will not last at all if they meet sand. Glad to hear you are happy with the Mugen, that was my first reaction when I got the set up right. It was just AWESOME!

To be honest I have seen the Yokomo's run, they are decent but I think the Mugen has an edge. I know a kid who runs the Yokomo and he can really kick ass. Now after getting my Mugen right I can decently hold him off and save some face.

MUGEN RULEZ!!!
tIANcI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 11:52 PM   #8822
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

Naw these were straight rtr's with weekend newbe's. Kinna like Freshmen I'm a Sophmore in R/C now! I Knew better then to run the lot but still afraid of the Seniors....... The Track I wanted to Run Has club Racing on Sunday anyways. I'll run at crystal park during the week till I get the hang of a track no more lots for my mugen.
I'll probably go play with TopGun777 out at KZ after that... Might be able to handle the power by then.
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 12:00 AM   #8823
Tech Master
 
tIANcI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,737
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fisher890
Naw these were straight rtr's with weekend newbe's. Kinna like Freshmen I'm a Sophmore in R/C now! I Knew better then to run the lot but still afraid of the Seniors....... The Track I wanted to Run Has club Racing on Sunday anyways. I'll run at crystal park during the week till I get the hang of a track no more lots for my mugen.
I'll probably go play with TopGun777 out at KZ after that... Might be able to handle the power by then.
You are a bully now huh? Sophmore ... hahahaha ... There are a few tracks from where I come from, some are illegal tracks (they see a nice piece of tarred land and they set something up!). The one I go to is a decently sized car park in a shopping mall. The surface is rough cement. We set up a fresh track each week with used tires and PVC pipes. Its good fun as we have great company. The 'track' is about 70-80 feet long and about 25 feet wide.

Only problem is when you meet the lamp posts and walls!!!
tIANcI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 12:14 AM   #8824
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

My RC10GT is Quite famillar with Lightpost ........ That one still hurts. Hope the venom Failsafe works as well as the onboard Temp. The lot I was running is about 100m X 40m of no obstructions. Like I said nice Lot. I did notice and I'm not sure if it was from my poor tuning but it did take awhile to hit 2nd gear. Which adj for the 2 sp?Loosen the set screws on the springs?
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 12:32 AM   #8825
Tech Master
 
tIANcI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,737
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fisher890
My RC10GT is Quite famillar with Lightpost ........ That one still hurts. Hope the venom Failsafe works as well as the onboard Temp. The lot I was running is about 100m X 40m of no obstructions. Like I said nice Lot. I did notice and I'm not sure if it was from my poor tuning but it did take awhile to hit 2nd gear. Which adj for the 2 sp?Loosen the set screws on the springs?
My advice on adjusting the 2 speed clutch, DON'T BE LAZY!!! Take the whole thing out of the housing, its not hard work at all (you only remove the E clip for the 1st speed spur, watch that it does not go flying!). This beats trying to look for the screw through the hole in the housing and then getting the 2mm screw into place as it needs to be at a certain angle.

What I do is to tighten the clutch screws till they are firm, not tight. Then loosen about 5-5.5 turns. Then you can fine tune from there. Each time turn a 1/4 turn. The shift point will also be affected by the way you tune your engine.
tIANcI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 07:08 PM   #8826
Tech Fanatic
 
RClover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tIANcI
Perhaps you could have asked if I ran on foams (of which I do) or rubbers (of which I am not presently) rather than being such as arse with such a comment. Its a mere forum for fun and not about showing whose ballz is bigger or better, there is no need to use such lovely language. Maybe you need to take your coffee first.

So please ... read carefully what I said, just my mere opinion and what I feel and think and its not the Blibical truth. Sheeesh ...
to add my personal view, i always believe what works for me might not work for others..and vice versa
RClover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 09:32 PM   #8827
Tech Elite
 
spawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SydNeeeeY
Posts: 4,559
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Can I use AA rechargeables instead of AAA for the reciever pack? will it fit into the slot?
spawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 11:26 PM   #8828
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spawn
Can I use AA rechargeables instead of AAA for the reciever pack? will it fit into the slot?
you can use whatever size you want except that you cannot use the stock battery holder for AA size and you need to find another place to accommodate your receiver pack
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 11:58 PM   #8829
Tech Elite
 
spawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SydNeeeeY
Posts: 4,559
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Manticore
you can use whatever size you want except that you cannot use the stock battery holder for AA size and you need to find another place to accommodate your receiver pack
okay so if I solder 5 pieces of AA in 3+2 confirguration it should fit into the place? Are you using the AAA or AA in your car?
spawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 01:08 AM   #8830
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

AAA the AA are too big to fit in the stock spot under the tank.I just built my RX packs and that is the only size small enough in dia to stack.
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 02:53 AM   #8831
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas T.X.
Posts: 62
Default

Hi boy's I just joined the thread and just wanted to post a Hello to all. Ive got 3 mtx-3's in my family and is looking for all the tips I can get. Ill thank you boys now for the questions ill ask later.. thanks. Hey Manti, Wanna Race??
freefallgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 02:55 AM   #8832
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by freefallgirl
Hi boy's I just joined the thread and just wanted to post a Hello to all. Ive got 3 mtx-3's in my family and is looking for all the tips I can get. Ill thank you boys now for the questions ill ask later.. thanks. Hey Manti, Wanna Race??
welcome FFG !
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 04:34 AM   #8833
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tIANcI
My advice on adjusting the 2 speed clutch, DON'T BE LAZY!!! Take the whole thing out of the housing, its not hard work at all (you only remove the E clip for the 1st speed spur, watch that it does not go flying!). This beats trying to look for the screw through the hole in the housing and then getting the 2mm screw into place as it needs to be at a certain angle.

What I do is to tighten the clutch screws till they are firm, not tight. Then loosen about 5-5.5 turns. Then you can fine tune from there. Each time turn a 1/4 turn. The shift point will also be affected by the way you tune your engine.

Ok thx you are right it was very easy to remove it and adj. Had it shifting on the box today with some more fuel mixture tweeking. Gonna pick up some belts and rear tires then take it to the Track weds. (if its not raining....) This starter box thing is da chit I can't believe I was Yankin the crank for a year.... Now I gotta yank the Yanker off my RB wow that RC10GT gonna really fly now.How Big should the Wings be for it? !Had a Problem with the Motor mount screws backing off... Longer Screws or the 4mm mounts? Seems like a 3x12 would be a better screw then the stock 3x8 But I Like to Go big on HP anchors. Has anyone else Had Problems with stripped screws/Screwholes anywhere on the MTX3? Seems like a bad place to go cheap on such a nice kit.
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 06:41 AM   #8834
Tech Elite
 
spawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SydNeeeeY
Posts: 4,559
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

what do I need to change to reduce the weight of my MTX3, it is 1750 without body and fuel? titanium middle and rear shaft?
spawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 07:10 AM   #8835
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spawn
what do I need to change to reduce the weight of my MTX3, it is 1750 without body and fuel? titanium middle and rear shaft?
ti mid shaft, ti rear shaft, ti pillow balls, milled (lightened) 1st gear housing, milled 2nd gear housing, milled pulley adapters, milled chassis.

That should put a nice dent in both the car's weight and your wallet.
tekrsq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MUGEN MBX5R/MUGEN MBX5T PROSPEC/TRAXXAS RACE REVO Jason Halvorson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 01-12-2008 10:32 AM
Mugen 5T Chassis, Mugen 46 Tooth Pinion, Associated Ride Height Gauge bretzkej R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-19-2007 06:31 PM
USA's Most Wanted FOR SALE Mugen MBX5R,Losi 8 comp, and Mugen MBX5T Prospec Truggy nobike R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 69 04-28-2007 07:45 PM
Another MTX3 prospec w lots of parts and an optional Mugen X12 w Mugen pipe Scott Fisher R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 11-21-2005 05:45 PM
drake xxx nt and mugen mst-1+extras......Looking for a kanai 2 or maybe mugen buggy [email protected] R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-30-2003 09:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:10 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net