Mugen MTX-3


Old 02-13-2003, 01:36 AM
  #2161  
Tech Fanatic
 
RClover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 869
Default MTX-3 with Zero Hop-ups...

Manti,
How would it perform with no option parts at all...? Compared it to yours?
Would you like to list down yours.. ? i mean the hop-ups on ur MTX-3...
RClover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 01:53 AM
  #2162  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default Re: MTX-3 with Zero Hop-ups...

Originally posted by RClover
Manti,
How would it perform with no option parts at all...? Compared it to yours?
Would you like to list down yours.. ? i mean the hop-ups on ur MTX-3...
factory drivers dont need hop ups at all as they replace high wear parts more frequent then we do at minimal cost. We need hop up is to prolong parts durability.

The stock MTX3 does perform well without hop up and the use of hop up has two factors:-

1/. Cool factor - eye candy
2/. performance - consistency
3/. less prone to parts breakage for rookie like me
Manticore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 01:55 AM
  #2163  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Originally posted by Ec1
What tips and trix do you recomend for the Mtx-3, (building one right now)
what sedan body ?? stratus?? We are not allowed to use the stratus 3 here...
the team driver here are using protoform S60 here. I have not tried it yet so I cannot tell how it performs.
Manticore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 02:10 AM
  #2164  
Tech Fanatic
 
RClover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 869
Default Re: Re: MTX-3 with Zero Hop-ups...

Originally posted by Manticore
factory drivers dont need hop ups at all as they replace high wear parts more frequent then we do at minimal cost. We need hop up is to prolong parts durability.

The stock MTX3 does perform well without hop up and the use of hop up has two factors:-

1/. Cool factor - eye candy
2/. performance - consistency
3/. less prone to parts breakage for rookie like me

sorry, u r not rookie.....
rookie does not know how to Modifast....

Do you personally find the lay down steering servo has any significant 'feel' in terms of attacking corners/sweepers as compared to RR? or improved lap times?
Frankly speaking, you as a 'ROOKIE' -so called , would you prefer to drive MTX-3 / RR?
Do you think you can outrun your own RR against your MTX-3, given that some other 'Rookie' is of similar Driving Standard as you?
RClover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 02:17 AM
  #2165  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default Re: Re: Re: MTX-3 with Zero Hop-ups...

Originally posted by RClover
sorry, u r not rookie.....
rookie does not know how to Modifast....

Do you personally find the lay down steering servo has any significant 'feel' in terms of attacking corners/sweepers as compared to RR? or improved lap times?
Frankly speaking, you as a 'ROOKIE' -so called , would you prefer to drive MTX-3 / RR?
Do you think you can outrun your own RR against your MTX-3, given that some other 'Rookie' is of similar Driving Standard as you?
MTX3 and RR are different car and they perform differently. for stock box kit I would say MTX3 performs much better then V1RR due to its lowest CG (belt car) and weight advantage.
Manticore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 02:49 AM
  #2166  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
sparksy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisvagas
Posts: 1,977
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default Re: Re: MTX-3 with Zero Hop-ups...

Originally posted by Manticore
factory drivers dont need hop ups at all as they replace high wear parts more frequent then we do at minimal cost. We need hop up is to prolong parts durability.

The stock MTX3 does perform well without hop up and the use of hop up has two factors:-

1/. Cool factor - eye candy
2/. performance - consistency
3/. less prone to parts breakage for rookie like me

Is that two factors or three?
sparksy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 03:10 AM
  #2167  
acs
Tech Adept
 
acs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 06 Worlds Track ^
Posts: 204
Default

Originally posted by Manticore
the team driver here are using protoform S60 here. I have not tried it yet so I cannot tell how it performs.
I raced last year with the S60 and now with the new Stratus. I personally could not tell the difference when I swapped.
acs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 03:14 AM
  #2168  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (26)
 
chookgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: newcastle
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

hi just thought i would post some pics of my hop ups 4 u
Attached Thumbnails Mugen MTX-3-rear-hop-ups.jpg  
chookgb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 03:17 AM
  #2169  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (26)
 
chookgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: newcastle
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

next one
Attached Thumbnails Mugen MTX-3-front-hop-ups.jpg  
chookgb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 03:18 AM
  #2170  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (26)
 
chookgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: newcastle
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

here is my front 3 racing bar it fitted perfectly
Attached Thumbnails Mugen MTX-3-front-sway-bar.jpg  
chookgb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 03:19 AM
  #2171  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (26)
 
chookgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: newcastle
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

still more
Attached Thumbnails Mugen MTX-3-side-hop-ups.jpg  
chookgb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 04:06 AM
  #2172  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

nice car chookgb !!
Manticore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 04:41 AM
  #2173  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default

chook,

Does the carbon fiber front plate keep the body posts in the stock position?

Is the blade type rear sway bar softer or harder than the stock bar?

BTW: Nice looking ride
tekrsq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 06:10 AM
  #2174  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
YBSLOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ARIZONA
Posts: 2,413
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Blade rear sway bar

In full vertical position it is just a little softer.
YBSLOW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 06:36 AM
  #2175  
Tech Elite
 
Corse-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 2,121
Default Re: Blade rear sway bar

Originally posted by YBSLOW
In full vertical position it is just a little softer.
In vertical? Is supposedly their hardest setting full vertical (90 degrees over the horizontal is their hardest adjustment)..... don't have 3racing rear blade, but I'm looking for a harder Bar.... seems that I'll wait to be available the 2.5mm Mugen rear bar.

Seems that the most requested parts of justrc and others are the lightweight pulleys, center bulkead and motor brace... probably the stock chassis is slightly weak...

Can anyone post a larger photo of the Square chassis if have one... I'm divided between Square chasis or Mugen 4mm chasis.
Corse-R is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service