R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-20-2005, 12:26 PM   #46
Tech Regular
 
dct147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 350
Default

ahhh....it didn`t occure to me about single cell being only 1.2volts.

how silly of me.

Thanks goodness i didn`t get the wiring wrong in the first place. was a lucky guess. black just seems so.. negative.

Good idea. maybe i`ll try getting a flash light bulb for it. it`ll save alot instead of getting a discharge tray.

5000mah is hell of alot. i`m on 3300 and i already feel it goes a long way.

Thanks alot guys!

Cheerzzzz!!!!!
dct147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 06:58 AM   #47
Tech Regular
 
New_Toasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Milkyway/Planet Earth/Europe/Sweden/Skåne/Malmö
Posts: 349
Default

In my 3PK a have a 700 mAh 8-cell pack Ni-cd, do I need to discharge it anymore after the radio says "low battery"? Or should I use a 8-cell 2000 mAh Ni-Mh pack instead?
New_Toasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 08:47 AM   #48
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

Use the 2000mah nimh pack.

NiCDs do have a memory, so discharging them is important, but why use a 750 when you can use a 2000 which does not have a memory.
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 09:55 AM   #49
Tech Regular
 
New_Toasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Milkyway/Planet Earth/Europe/Sweden/Skåne/Malmö
Posts: 349
Default

OK, thanks for the advice!

Since the 2000 mAh are normal chargeable aa-cells I'll just have to get a 8-cell dry-cell batteryholder for them
New_Toasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 09:55 AM   #50
Tech Regular
 
dct147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 350
Default

Is there a possibility I create my own TX or RX battery pack?

i`m able to get my local hardware shop to create 1 with equalivant voltage but with higher mah.

i see it as a possibility. or is it not advisable?

If i do a larger capacity of voltage, like for eg, an 8 cell for my RX pack 8.4V, will it overkill on the voltage burning my receiver or servos?
dct147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 11:10 AM   #51
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

dct147

Having the packs made for you is fine. As long as the finished package fits where you need it to. For the receiver battery, stick to 5 cell 6.0 volts. You can damage some electronics with too much voltage. With the higher capacity batteries out there you shouldn't have a problem with run time. You can also get a spare pack and swap out if you are an rc madman and run that much.

For the transmitter though, you can pop in the 8 cells that the radio normally holds or you can add an additional cell to boost the voltage back up to 12 volts. I know that with Futaba, you can remove the battery tray and install a 4-4-1 configured battery. See diagram below.

___
||||
||||
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 11:20 AM   #52
Tech Regular
 
dct147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 350
Default

Rapid Roy,

Lol i like the way u put it. RC madman. haha.

yeah i`m kinda that, as i seldom get to play, everytime i play, i make up for loss time.

Thanks for the diagram.

i`m actually more worried for my Rx batts i`ve got a whole lot of rechargables for my tx. the only rx packs that are available here are only 1100mahs. there`s a shop selling packs at 1400mahs, but at a real ridiculous price. moreover, my rx pack is taped to my car, changing them would be very trobulesome.

That`s y i`m always worried about charging them, 1100mah isn`t alot of runtime i pressume, i don`t want to cut my practice time short.

i might just try doing up a flat pack of 6v 2500mah

yeah! i`ll try that. has anyone done that so far?
dct147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 11:33 AM   #53
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Ive got 1200's for the RX. They seem fine. I also have the 1400 ofna pack , I think the batteries say mds on them or something. This might be the same for you.

Also yeah my 1400 pack was pretty costly. I never really used the pack either so im not sure if it was worth the extra cost.

As for making your own lots of people do it. Just look at what configurations will work. Some people work with AA or AAA to make them even lighter weight.

Im sure someone can help you with the specifics as I havent made my own yet but plan too very soon.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 11:37 AM   #54
Tech Regular
 
dct147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 350
Default

Sounds very fair and very good.

Nothing`s gonna stop me now.

Thanks for the info.

Cheerzzzzz!!!!
dct147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 12:53 PM   #55
Tech Regular
 
New_Toasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Milkyway/Planet Earth/Europe/Sweden/Skåne/Malmö
Posts: 349
Default

When I needed RX batteries for my 710 I just went to the swedish electronicsstore "Kjell and company", which is pretty much like Radioshack, where I bought 5 AAA cells with solder-ears and soldered them together in the 710 L-shape and put some shrinkwrap around. Works flawless now when I changed a cell that were bad.
New_Toasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 01:43 PM   #56
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dct147
Rapid Roy,

Lol i like the way u put it. RC madman. haha.

yeah i`m kinda that, as i seldom get to play, everytime i play, i make up for loss time.

Thanks for the diagram.

i`m actually more worried for my Rx batts i`ve got a whole lot of rechargables for my tx. the only rx packs that are available here are only 1100mahs. there`s a shop selling packs at 1400mahs, but at a real ridiculous price. moreover, my rx pack is taped to my car, changing them would be very trobulesome.

That`s y i`m always worried about charging them, 1100mah isn`t alot of runtime i pressume, i don`t want to cut my practice time short.

i might just try doing up a flat pack of 6v 2500mah

yeah! i`ll try that. has anyone done that so far?

I use 1100 mah RX batteries and can run all day on one charge. Now I use standard servo's not digital so they don't use a lot of power, but I've run almost quart of fuel in one day without recharging.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 09:34 PM   #57
Tech Regular
 
dct147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 350
Default

from what i`ve heard, 1100mah is actually for a practice day.

but i`ll just have a peace of mind knowing i`ve a super lasting batt pack.
dct147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 05:36 AM   #58
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

I built my own RX pack as the local shops didn't carry an assembled one to fit my Mongoose.

5 AAA nimh's, a connector, shrink wrap, a piece of small piano wire or brass wire, i dunno what its made of but the guy at the hobby shop recommended it. Soldered it all together, wrapped it, works great, and cheaper than buying an assembled pack. I just charge it with my APS or Pulsar at .8 A (800mah)
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discharging 5 cell packs....?!?! Island Losi Electric On-Road 2 01-29-2008 04:10 PM
Pulse vs Linear DISCHARGING (also vs Multi-step discharging) akuhon Electric On-Road 5 01-01-2007 11:58 PM
discharging whilst packs on a tray??? xray racer Electric On-Road 8 08-27-2005 10:29 AM
Discharging receiver packs revzalot Nitro On-Road 3 04-08-2005 03:01 PM
Discharging Stick Packs f2000racer Electric On-Road 7 01-15-2005 01:38 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:40 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net