Wiki Posts
Search

Beginner - trouble tuning idle so car will sit still

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2005, 07:02 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Beginner - trouble tuning idle so car will sit still

Hi,

I'm a beginner when it comes to gas powered R/C. My best friend gave me his RS4/2 that has some upgrades. One of those is the OS Max CV-15 engine. It has both high (which I believe they refer to as a needle valve) and low (which they refer to as the mixture control screw) idle adjustments as well as the throttle stop screw. I've been fooling around all day trying to figure out how to get this thing to idle low enough that it will stay still if I put it on the ground. As it stands the wheels are turning way too fast.

Right now I have it such that *I think* the low speed idle adjustment is about perfect. I'm using the pinch test to determine this. If I pinch off the fuel the rpm's increase just slightly and then engine shuts off. The low speed adjust is just under a full turn open from full closed. I hear this is wrong though, as most sites advise this screw to be flush.

The high speed is 3 full turns open. There's about a 1MM opening in the carb (per the OS Max instructions).

What do I adjust as this point to get the RPM's low enough to set it down?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by jcaudill; 06-26-2005 at 09:11 AM.
Old 06-25-2005, 09:19 PM
Jye
Tech Regular

Maybe your idol postion in the carb is too open. Also, you may not have the brakes engaged enough. If you pull full brakes does it stop? Im just throwing stuff out there, i had the same problem at first. Turns out i had to set the minimum carb opening, which youve done, adjust the carb at neutral, half way open or less is what i use, and set the brake engagement where i want it. To do that, on the long stem from your throttle servo, turn the little knob on the end of it clockwise. Hope any part of this helps.
Old 06-25-2005, 09:20 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)