R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2005, 08:46 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Set-Up Station: Aluminum or Acrylic?

I know that the aluminum will be more durable, but is it necessary? The acrylic version of Hudy will work just as well, correct?

Tweak boards seem to be making a come back. Wouldn't this cause another perfection head ache - especially to someone that is new to set-up?
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 01:32 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

The only cruddy thing about the acrylic one is that it is difficult to read in the sunlight.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 06:57 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Let me ask about the Hudy Tweak board. How is there an accurate reading if the tweak board and opposite end are not level? Whichever end is being measured for tweak, the follow end will be angled. I would think that the whole chassis would have to be level to get a proper measurement. Correct?
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 07:16 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
DIMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: TEAM SMA
Posts: 321
Default Acrylic

Hye I Got a Hudy 1/10 acrylic set up system, It works great even in the sun light. Just gotta keep em clean

my $.02
DIMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 04:17 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Yeah, the first thing you need to do is make sure your board is level, then use all the gauges, not just half. Another thing to consider, the acrylic will scratch. Mine is slowly getting scratched so be careful. It's just as accurate as aluminum, but the acrylic system does not come with a case. I try to keep them wrapped up, but over time they scratch. The acrylic is easierr to strip too. The screws are screwed in to the drilled out acrylic, so even though it hasn't happened yet, I worry about them getting stripped out. Also, acrylic is nice cause you can see through it and see what things might be affecting; not a big deal, I'm sure youy can get used to the aluminum being opaque.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 04:19 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

With the board, some brands have a built in bubble level, the Hudy one with the acrylic does not. I just use a bubble level I purchased seperate and level that way, but I need to use coins or shims to level it since there is no screw in legs to adjust th level on the board like some other boards. Once its level, you can adjust tweak with scales on that same board too.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 04:21 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Bundy_Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 2,682
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I have a question... Does the new Aluminium version of the Hudy setup station fit onto the NTC3 with it's larger axle diameter? I have a feeling you would have to attack it with a drill to make it fit

BB
__________________
MissMooRC Racing
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/missmoorc
Bundy_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 09:17 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
gfd2726's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: S.CA
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to gfd2726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bundy_Bear
I have a question... Does the new Aluminium version of the Hudy setup station fit onto the NTC3 with it's larger axle diameter? I have a feeling you would have to attack it with a drill to make it fit

BB
I have no problem fitting my FT NTC3 into the new aluminium version of the hudy setup station.
gfd2726 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 09:26 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edseb
With the board, some brands have a built in bubble level, the Hudy one with the acrylic does not. I just use a bubble level I purchased seperate and level that way, but I need to use coins or shims to level it since there is no screw in legs to adjust th level on the board like some other boards. Once its level, you can adjust tweak with scales on that same board too.
Why would the board have to be level if the board is nice, new, and flat?
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 10:20 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Well, when you are setting up a car, the ultimate goal is to control the amount of roll the car has on to each corner of the car. Hard springs will allow less roll, camber links quicker or slower transistion, etc. If it isn't level, then the car will be set up with "tweak" meaning, it won't be balanced. If you balance it when it is not level, then it will not be balanced when put on the track making the car different from front to rear or left to right. Having it not level, could affect ride height, camber, rake, bump steer, etc.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 02:33 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Set-Up Station: Aluminum or Acrylic?

Naah ... carboard by Dudy. Why? Look at 3hobby.net here :-

http://3hobby.net/modules.php?name=N...rticle&sid=463
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 03:24 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by performula
Why would the board have to be level if the board is nice, new, and flat?
Because the table or work station that you placed your setupboard might not be level or flat....thats why some high end setup board I have seen has 4 adjustable rideheigh legs at 4 corners and the leveler on the front and side edge for perfect flat setting....at least, almost flat...there is no such thing is perfectly flat in this world.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 03:57 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edseb
Well, when you are setting up a car, the ultimate goal is to control the amount of roll the car has on to each corner of the car. Hard springs will allow less roll, camber links quicker or slower transistion, etc. If it isn't level, then the car will be set up with "tweak" meaning, it won't be balanced. If you balance it when it is not level, then it will not be balanced when put on the track making the car different from front to rear or left to right. Having it not level, could affect ride height, camber, rake, bump steer, etc.
I dropped $270 on the "All in one" and had a fit with this post. How much are levels down at Home Depot? I guess I could level each side of the board to make sure it is level with the table/bench I am using.
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 01:26 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Yeah, it can suck, but you do need to start with a good foundation. How ever you choose to get it level is good as long as it works. I got a bubble at a camera shop that usually attaches to a hot shoe mount. I'm sure there are others and probably cheaper.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aluminum Nuts for Setup Station jla8874 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-20-2008 12:52 PM
WTB Hudy Aluminum Setup station wallstreet R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 05-03-2007 05:22 PM
INTEGY 1/8 ALUMINUM SETUP STATION MercyRev R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 02-20-2007 03:56 PM
KO- PS2173 servo, KO switch, PCRC fuel injection Unit, 1/10th acrylic set-up station cdelong R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 09-28-2005 04:00 PM
Blue aluminum Integy Set-Up station F/S coastaltony R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 03-27-2005 12:48 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:54 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net