R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 06-09-2005, 09:28 PM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default rs4 2, temperary racer, what hopups?

well, i'm just getting into onroad and I got an hpi rs4 for free which my dad has had in the closet for over a year.
It runs great, but I know it is not at all competative, but I want to do some work to it and race some before purchasing a better kit. I know I need some better tires, a two speed (at least I think I would), and a .12 motor. Any other ideas?
If you know of anything I can do to it that would transfer over to an r40 later on, that would be excellent.

The only thing I have on it as of now, is a front belt tensioner because I've lost the front belt probably three times in five tanks (guess it stretched the first time and after that doesnt quite fit tight enough) do I need tensioners on the other belts as well? if so, where can I find these?

thanks
pedro
pedro_sandchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 01:47 AM   #2
Tech Adept

Send a message via MSN to Qlone

Only the front belt tensioner is enough.

If you want to race, you definitely want to get the 2 speed and the side brace. Also, foam tires and anti-roll bars would be good to have. I don't know how many of those items transfer to the R40 (probably none, except the engine).

Keep in mind, though, that the rs4-2 is a rather old chassis and even when fully hopped up will have a very hard time keeping up with the more 'pro' cars. Back in the day when the rs4-2 was current HPI also offered an rs4-2 'race' edition. You may want to see which option parts are on there.

Look http://www.hpiracing.com/graphics/catalog2k2/18-19.jpg and http://www.hpiracing.com/kits/nitroracer2/nr2-m.htm .
Qlone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 05:12 AM   #3

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I